Featuring classic cottage charm with a contemporary modern twist, The Modern Mill Cottage perfectly embodies the spirit of Bend. This charming two bedroom, one bathroom vacation home is ideal for those Bend explorers who wish to be in the heart of it all while visiting the area. Situated just three blocks from downtown Bend, you are just a short stroll to all the superb dining, infamous breweries, art galleries, and festivals that make our town so unique. You can walk right from the house to all the most popular area hot spots without missing a thing. The Modern Mill Cottage offers two comfortable light and bright bedrooms, one private bathroom, open living area perfect for gathering or relaxing, a fully stocked kitchen with all appliances and cooking equipment, free wireless internet, washer and dryer in separate laundry room, private courtyard with gas BBQ and outdoor dining, fully fenced yard, and a private hot tub perfect for unwinding after an exciting day of discovering Central Oregon. Charming extras will surprise and delight, from the designated interior ski locker storage to the retro record player complete with a vast collection of classic vinyls. With its unique blend of past and present, The Modern Mill Cottage is the perfect place to get away or get together.
- House76 m²
- Half Baths0
- Min. Stay1 - 5 nights
Adorable craftsman style cottage with classic charm and contemporary amenities
Erin or Lisa
- Calendar last updated:
- 21 Sep. 2018
Pool / Spa
Check-in: 4:00 pm
Check-out: 11:00 am
No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made
Cinco De Mayo weekend
We had an excellent stay in this perfect little cottage. My parents were comfortable in the master bedroom with the more space for my father who is partially handicap. The spare bedroom is small but serves its purpose. Only suggestion would be darker blinds in the spare bedroom since the sun hits on that side early in the morning:). Other than that, we couldn't find anything bad to say about the home. Its very cozy and a perfect walking, biking, driving distance to, EVERYTHING. Will be returning in the future.
It sounds like you had a great time with your family! I couldn't think of anyone better to come experience Bend with. I love that you enjoyed this cozy little home. It is a pretty special place and our main goal is to make sure we provide a clean, well-stocked place for our guests to getaway or get together. Can't wait to have you back.
Great Cottage in Bend
My wife, dog and I spent a lovely stay of several days and enjoyed our visit very much. The house was just the right size for us and was well furnished. The kitchen is especially well supplied, the tv and WiFi are easy to use, and the master bed was comfy.
If you’re looking for a great, quiet location in Bend that’s 3 short blocks from downtown, choose this property (also quite close to the old mill district). If you’ve ever tried to park in downtown Bend, you’ll really appreciate this location.
The front yard is spacious and well fenced if bringing your pet. There is ample parking in back but no garage.
Comfortable bungalow in the heart of Bend
This little home was a wonderful home base for our Bend excursion. It was walking distance to a handful of amazing breweries, Drake Park, and exceptional dining options. The house was well-appointed and extremely comfortable if on the small side. It was perfect for the three of us!
Pros and Cons
I don't like writing or reading one sided reviews, so here is the good and bad ;-)
Loved the location of this house! It is very cute, has a hot tub, and fully fenced yard zones for the dogs. Great kitchen and gas BBQ.
-It was not very clean. Like someone had finished the job halfway?
-Smelled like cigarette smoke.
-There is not garage if you are traveling with Ski/boards or bikes which was not very clear to us until we got there and found it locked.
-We had a few issues and questions, however, the management service did not get back to us.
I am glad you enjoyed the main features of this home. It is a cute place, well-appointed, beautifully designed, and the outdoor space is fantastic. Though your overall rating did not take this into consideration, I am glad you enjoyed them.
Communication is important. The one time you called, we returned your call within ten minutes. You called to say there was an issue getting in the door but you had to leave a voicemail. If you recall, we did call you back within ten minutes and were able to walk you through it. Unfortunately, we are occasionally already on the phone with another guest when calls come in, but we’ll always return calls as quickly as possible.
We do not advertise a garage at this house. There are no pictures of a garage, there is no mention of interior storage of any kind. It is unfortunate that your review reflects your disappointment in an amenity that we do not claim to offer. Most guests store personal items in the large fully fenced and gated patio by the private parking area near the backdoor. The 6’ solid wood fence completely encloses it for privacy and we even supply a bike lock for extra security in the summer.
We have a 100% non-smoking policy. Smoking of any kind is not allowed either in the house OR on the grounds which includes patios, decks, yards, or parking areas. We are very strict about this policy and we do not waiver.
You chose to stay over Memorial Day Weekend. Though our rates are not discounted over that peak holiday time, we do offer great discounts for midweek stays, extended stays, off season and shoulder seasons, and last minute bookings. I encourage guests to travel during non-peak times for our very best rates and contact me directly for potential unpublished discounts. Bend is lovely year-round, and rates are typically higher over holiday weekend times as with lodging anywhere.
As for the housekeeping issue you mentioned, I am quite surprised. We have had the same team of dedicated cleaners working with us for years that continually exceed our guest’s expectations (please see other past reviews). We strive for excellence and accept nothing less. We even double check and inspect each home prior to all arrivals. Your claim has been taken very seriously because of its rarity and I will personally make sure all of our protocols are being followed.
I'm glad you enjoyed Bend over that event packed weekend. It’s a lovely town, and this house is an amazing place to call home while visiting.
Good location and nice interior
Walking distance to central district and brewpubs is nice. Hot tub works albeit stuck in a tight space around the side of the house. Exterior and front patio, in late winter, were dirty but interior is spotless and nice. The vintage phono player shown in the pictures doesn't work so bring your own portable speakers for tunes. Overall a great place.
I am so glad you were able to come experience The Modern Mill Cottage, and walk to so many great places right from the house. Our spring time can bring dust and pollen here in the High Desert, so thanks for being so understanding of the outdoor spaces during that time period prior to when our regular outside maintenance starts in April. I am glad the inside of the house was tidy and spotless for you... just what we expect as well but it never gets old hearing that we delivered! I have checked on the record player and have a new needle ordered... stay tuned for tunes. Thanks for letting know! And thank you for being our guests.
This place was truly amazing! As soon as we walked in the door, we were pretty amazed at the house. Not only was it super clean, it is decorated so tastefully. The location is fantastic as well, a short walk to the bustling downtown Bend that has so much to offer. I'd say this is the best rental (I've stayed in alot) I've stayed in.
THE BEST RENTAL!
YAY! Mission accomplished. Thank you for your wonderful comments. We put a lot of time and attention into making sure our guests have EXACTLY the experience you had. Who doesn't love a nice clean home in the best location in one of the best little cities in the country? Thank you for staying, and for letting us help you have the best Bend experience possible.
Perfectly situated between Downtown Bend and The Mill Quarter
Additional information about rental rates
Guests are required to provide a credit card number at the time of contract directly with the Property Management company in lieu of paying an upfront damage deposit. All cancellations made within 24 hours of booking are subject to a $50 cancellation fee. Reservations booked and confirmed online are charged a nonrefundable 25% deposit. Cancellations made with less than 30 days notice may be completely non-refundable. Please consider trip insurance for your trip. See our rental agreement for full details on the cancellation policy as they pertain to your individual reservation. If you reserve at a 3rd party website, we are unable to refund your 3rd party fees. -- When your arrival is less than 30 days in the future, 100% payment is due when making the reservation. When your arrival is more than 30 days in the future, 25% payment is required to confirm your reservation. The remaining balance due will be collected 30 days prior to your check-in date. Please be aware that if you reserve through VRBO you will pay their service fee for their additional services in addition to the rate we quote for you. We are not able to refund/remove/deduct that fee for you if you reserve through VRBO. You may reserve with us directly without a fee at www.HomeSpunVacations.com. Please check your VRBO instant quote for complete stay pricing and additional fees. STANDARD WEEKEND BOOKINGS ARE A MINIMUM OF THREE NIGHTS. Rates are based on length of stay, and number of guests. They will vary for weekends, special events, and holidays. Some restrictions on check-in and checkout days of the week may apply to certain date ranges. DISCOUNTS may sometimes apply for multi-night, mid-week, and business stays. There will be an 12.2% Lodging Tax applied to all bookings.