Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Contemporary Chic Cottage near DOWNTOWN BEND with hot tub

Bedrooms 2
Space 76 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights


About the property

Adorable craftsman style cottage with classic charm and contemporary amenities

Featuring classic cottage charm with a contemporary modern twist, The Modern Mill Cottage perfectly embodies the spirit of Bend. This charming two bedroom, one bathroom vacation home is ideal for those Bend explorers who wish to be in the heart of it all while visiting the area. Situated just three blocks from downtown Bend, you are just a short stroll to all the superb dining, infamous breweries, art galleries, and festivals that make our town so unique. You can walk right from the house to all the most popular area hot spots without missing a thing. The Modern Mill Cottage offers two comfortable light and bright bedrooms, one private bathroom, open living area perfect for gathering or relaxing, a fully stocked kitchen with all appliances and cooking equipment, free wireless internet, washer and dryer in separate laundry room, private courtyard with gas BBQ and outdoor dining, fully fenced yard, and a private hot tub perfect for unwinding after an exciting day of discovering Central Oregon. Charming extras will surprise and delight, from the designated interior ski locker storage to the retro record player complete with a vast collection of classic vinyls. With its unique blend of past and present, The Modern Mill Cottage is the perfect place to get away or get together.

Property Manager
Erin or Lisa
Member since: 2009
Speaks english
Response time
Within a day
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
21 March, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Old Bend, Oregon

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 76 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • City Centre ...
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed , High end linens and pillows
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed , High end linens and pillows
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 bicycles
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • ski
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • caving
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(23 traveller reviews)

78% Complete
17% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Contemporary Chic Cottage near DOWNTOWN BEND with hot tub
average rating of 4.7391305 based on 23 reviews

Good location and nice interior

  • 5 of 5

Walking distance to central district and brewpubs is nice. Hot tub works albeit stuck in a tight space around the side of the house. Exterior and front patio, in late winter, were dirty but interior is spotless and nice. The vintage phono player shown in the pictures doesn't work so bring your own portable speakers for tunes. Overall a great place.

  • Review Submitted: 22/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chesapeake, VA

5+ Stars!!

  • 5 of 5

This place was truly amazing! As soon as we walked in the door, we were pretty amazed at the house. Not only was it super clean, it is decorated so tastefully. The location is fantastic as well, a short walk to the bustling downtown Bend that has so much to offer. I'd say this is the best rental (I've stayed in alot) I've stayed in.

  • Review Submitted: 16/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location!

  • 4 of 5

The modern mill is a darling cottage that's in a great location, close to everything! We could walk to all of our favorite spots!

It was a perfect size for the 3 of us. It's was super clean and full of everything we needed! Thank you Erin and Lisa for a smooth transaction! We will definitely stay here again! We love Bend!!!!

  • Review Submitted: 13/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Overall very well appointed, clean and comfortable.

  • 4 of 5

We had several electronic related concerns that detracted from our stay: electronic keyless entry didn’t work; the hot tub controls didn’t function; a smoke detector had a low battery and beeped for a day nonstop and simple directions on how to use the tv would have been helpful- though we figured it out. Other than this small things it was very well done- especially the kitchen.

  • Review Submitted: 29/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for being our guests! I appreciate the heads up about the smoke detector battery. I wish we would have known while you were staying as we are only ten minutes away and would have been happy to come over and change it. As for the door locks and the TV, we do provide directions both in the reservation packet you were sent prior to check in on how to run the locks, and we have an in-home guide that outlines all information about how to run all the components of the home from the TV to the heat to the hot tub. And as always, we are happy to help walk you though it! Come visit again next time so we can show you what a wonderful home this can be.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

A cozy, relaxing retreat!

  • 5 of 5

Everything was perfect. I could live here. Well stocked, walkable, warm and cozy, modern and clean.

  • Review Submitted: 12/12/2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: "Perfect"... we'll take it! Thank you so much for your kind comments, and for being our guests. The Modern Mill definitely has a feeling about it that makes it feel like you can stay there forever. Our staff works diligently to provide a comfortable, clean environment that makes you feel relaxed the moment you arrive. Come back and visit often... we'd love to have you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was great!! The cottage was perfect and very close to the downtown area. The record player and hot tub were a plus!

  • Review Submitted: 04/12/2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you hear that you made use of the record player! How can you go wrong with good music and a bubbling hot tub? Thanks for visiting our "awesome cottage".
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
McMenamins Old St. Francis School
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Jackson's Corner
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Mt Bachelor
Car: recommended

Perfectly situated between Downtown Bend and The Mill Quarter


Rates & Availability

Contact Manager

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$95.57
Pet Fee AU$63.71

Guests are required to provide a credit card number at the time of contract directly with the Property Management company in lieu of paying an upfront damage deposit.

All cancellations made within 24 hours of booking are subject to a $50 cancellation fee. Reservations booked and confirmed online are charged a nonrefundable 25% deposit. Cancellations made with less than 30 days notice may be completely non-refundable. Please consider trip insurance for your trip. See our rental agreement for full details on the cancellation policy as they pertain to your individual reservation. If you reserve at a 3rd party website, we are unable to refund your 3rd party fees.
When your arrival is less than 30 days in the future, 100% payment is due when making the reservation. When your arrival is more than 30 days in the future, 25% payment is required to confirm your reservation. The remaining balance due will be collected 30 days prior to your check-in date.

Please be aware that if you reserve through VRBO you will pay their service fee for their additional services in addition to the rate we quote for you. We are not able to refund/remove/deduct that fee for you if you reserve through VRBO. You may reserve with us directly without a fee at

Please check your VRBO instant quote for complete stay pricing and additional fees.

Rates are based on length of stay, and number of guests.
They will vary for weekends, special events, and holidays.
Some restrictions on check-in and checkout days of the week may apply to certain date ranges.
DISCOUNTS may sometimes apply for multi-night, mid-week, and business stays.
There will be an 12.2% Lodging Tax applied to all bookings.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made