Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Converted farmhouse 'Arzella' with pool and garden.MTA accredited

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 250 m²
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

3 bedrooms,2 bathrooms (1 en-suite) ,sleeps 6-7

Beautifully converted 150-year-old farmhouse with the aim of maintaining the rustic style, which is so typical for Gozo farmhouses, but combining this with modern comfort. It comprises a total area of 350 m2 with a sitting room, large dining/living room with dining table and sofa, partly open kitchen and toilet/washing room at the ground floor.

The kitchen has all amenities and the wash room contains a washing machine. Wide doors give easy access to a spacious garden with a 30-m2 pool, pool shower, barbecue, gazebo and garden furniture, overlooking the fields.

A classical stairs with skylight leads to the second floor with 3 spacious bedrooms and 2 luxury bathrooms, of which one is en-suite. Two bedrooms have double beds, one has two singles. Two of the bedrooms have balconies, offering nice views over the fields/part of town. All furniture is first class pine. The house is well furnishing with a combination of classical pine and rattan. AC is available for the master bedroom ( at a small extra charge) , capable of cooling other (bed)rooms to a degree.Ceiling & Standing fans are installed as is a free Wireless network ( code protected)

We are licensed by the Maltese Tourist Authority (MTA).

More Details

Frans Spijker
Member since: 2003
Speaks english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, italian, dutch, norwegian
Response time
Within 12 hours
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
20 April, 2018

About Frans Spijker

Hi , I am Dutch by nationality and married since 1982 to a Maltese lady. My profession has made us live for the last 25 + years in 8 different countries around the world and we recently decided to settle down in Portugal .

Frans Spijker purchased this farmhouse in 2003

Why Frans Spijker chose Xaghra

Considering our strong family ties with Malta we always wanted to purchase some property on the sister island of Gozo. Why Gozo ? because it is much quieter and more intimate than Malta, also greener throughout the year with lovely beaches close by.

What makes this farmhouse unique

We purchased this property at the time and had it converted because we loved the location being on the outskirts of Xaghra ,with green areas behind,the possibility to have a nice garden, quietness but nevertheless still with all amenities of Xaghra within walking distance (10-15 mins)


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday farmhouse rental in Xaghra

Property Type:
  • farmhouse (semi-detached)
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 250 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Village
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Safe
  • Sunbed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom (ensuite) - toilet , bath with shower
    Guest Bathroom - toilet , shower enclosure
    Main living toilet/washroom - toilet
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Master bedroom - 1 large double bed , 1 child bed
    Guest bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Guest bedroom 2 - 2 single bed
  • 2 doubles, 1 family bedroom, 1 cot and one foldable bed for a teenager. Ceiling fans in each of the rooms.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony ...
  • deck chairs
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • patio
  • Terrace
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
  • long term rentals available
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Maid services are provided once a week. Attractive car rental can be arranged via housemanagement representative The garden is lighted and has a comfortable Gazebo where 4-6 people can dine. Wireless internet included in the price, with full plot coverage.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(37 traveller reviews)

78% Complete
18% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Converted farmhouse 'Arzella' with pool and garden.MTA accredited
average rating of 4.756757 based on 37 reviews


  • 5 of 5

A great location and lovely setting. The pool area and garden was beautiful.

  • Review Submitted: 14/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for taking the trouble to review your stay and obviously pleased that you enjoyed it. Hope to see you back in the future ! Regards, Frans
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Highly recommended

  • 4 of 5

Lovely old building beautifully renovated. Three minute walk from the town square. Large bedrooms and very clean. Only downsides were the lack of soap and the tendency to run out of hot water (we were four people). Great value for money though.

  • Review Submitted: 30/11/2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent property and great location.

  • 5 of 5

Would recommend Arzella and Xxaghra. The farmhouse was very comfortable and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The pool was good and lots of loungers and chairs to sit out on. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were large and lots of space for storage. We cooked on the BBQ almost every night as it was too hot to cook inside. The gas oven was a bit fiddly to light but ok. Only downside was the noisy cockerel who woke us very early every morning. We slept with the windows open as we had opted not to use Air Con so I guess we wouldn't have heard the noise so loudly if we had the shutters closed. Would definitely go back.

  • Review Submitted: 30/07/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for taking the trouble to provide us with feedback on your stay ! Obviously pleased you enjoyed it and hope to see you back ! And on the cockerel...really don't know what to do other that becoming a "persona non grata" for our neighbours..... Regards
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Heerlijk verblijf op Gozo

  • 5 of 5

De bedoeling was om een huis op Malta te reserveren. Maar we werden geconfronteerd met veel karakterloze appartementen op dat eiland. Vervolgens letterlijk de oversteek gemaakt naar Gozo en kwamen we uit bij Arzella. We hebben het er heerlijk gehad. Mooi weer. Lekker zwembad en het huis was van alle gemakken voorzien. Zeker een aanrader.

  • Review Submitted: 18/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hartelijk dank voor de moeite om een evaluatie te schrijven en natuurlijk fijn dat jullie het naar je zin hebben gehad. Hopelijk tot ziens ! Met Groet, Frans
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good, albeit a bit smelly

  • 3 of 5

We just came back from a one week stay at Arzella as a family of four (kids age 3 and 6). The location in Xaghra is great, very central to the rest of Gozo and the village square is charming with many cafes and restaurants. The house is spacious and clean and kitchen well stocked with pots/pans and necessities. Our main attraction to the house was the pool and garden but unfortunately we didn't spend as much time there as we hoped to. There is a chicken coop and goat shed on the other side of the garden wall so there was a constant foul poultry and animal smell. A real "farmhouse". Not sure if it was related, but there was also A LOT of flies and mosquitos.

The bedrooms had ceiling and floor fans but it was still hard to keep them cool enough on the hot nights which meant windows were left open and more bug issues. Also not ideal if you are a light sleeper bc the rooster was VERY loud starting at the crack of dawn.

Overall a nice stay at Arzella but be prepared with lots of repellent and no sensitivity to smells.

  • Review Submitted: 08/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for submitting a review of your stay and pleased that you enjoyed the house ! It is a pity that you experienced these smells during your stay ( and flies - surely related...). I requested the house management to follow-up and they informed me that the owners of the land at the back had brought in some new goats...This surely was the reason of the smells... So it was an unfortunate moment in time. We have been renting it out for 15 years and this was the 2nd time we had guests experiencing strong smells. The previous case was about 4 years ago and was due to the owner of land fertilizing his land with manure....The guests at the time made contact with our house management immediately and they then together with the landowner took the necessary measures to reduce the smell. My house management asked me if you have tried to contact them about this and the heat at night ( there is an AC in the master bedroom... ) . My concern is that you didn't manage to get hold of them or you did but they didn't follow-up and/or failed to contact me....My experience with Frank Salt is very good , but there is always a first time... As you know I contacted you separately in the hope to get your feedback on above , so we can learn and further improve ! Regards, Frans
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Gorgeous stone built house with pool and garden a short walk from the village square.

  • 5 of 5

We really loved staying here, and even my 22month old grand daughter jumped up and down with delight when we opened the door! It was perfect for us, with two bathrooms, and a very well equipped kitchen, TV with DVD's including one for her, and comfortable loungers by the poolside. Only problem was the gas oven, which we could not work. Also the instructions were very faded... . Otherwise delightful, with a pretty garden and little pergola, to sit and have drinks, and a larger table and chairs just outside the French doors, for dining. We would happily have paid for some charcoal as we could not find any at all on the island, and would have liked to have a BBQ. The house is only a ten minute walk from the village square where they are some nice restaurants to eat or have a coffee or drink. We would love to come again!

  • Review Submitted: 11/05/2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jane,many thanks for taking the trouble to provide us with feedback and of course pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As regards the oven we had some problems with one of the knobs ,but presume this was fixed. It is a bit complicated,which is why we put up some instructions...but then indeed it should be we take action straight away....Strange you didn't manage to find charcoal... Not sure if you asked Frank of the management company,but we will now request him to ensure for the warm months there is always a bag of charcoal under the BBQ upon guest arrival ...Thanks again,hope to see you back and then for any problem contact our house management...afterall it is one of the services we pay them for...! Regards, Frans
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
40 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
8 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Nearest Beach
3 Kilometres
Car: recommended

Why not spent your holiday in a converted 150 yr. old farmhouse in the mid of the Mediterranean Sea on the sunny, quiet and picturesque island of Gozo with its more than 3000 yr. of history?

Farmhouse Arzella ('Shell') is a beautifully converted 150-year-old farmhouse with a spacious garden at the border of the picturesque and quiet town of Xaghra (pronounce: shara).


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday farmhouse on Xaghra

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
1 Mar 2018 - 30 Apr 2018
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$18 per night, per additional guest
1 May 2018 - 31 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$18 per night, per additional guest
1 Jun 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$18 per night, per additional guest
1 Jul 2018 - 31 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$18 per night, per additional guest
1 Aug 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$18 per night, per additional guest
1 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$18 per night, per additional guest
1 Oct 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$18 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$18 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Rates apply for max 4 persons. Additional charge : Euro 11/person/per night up to 7 persons . Lower rates for children
Higher rates may apply for Christmas/New Year and Easter periods.
30 % deposit within 2 weeks of date of booking,remaining latest 1 month before start of rental

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner