Open Loft, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
- english, spanish
Our motto is simple. We are world travelers who have taken all of our experience, from staying at expensive hotels to the simplest hostile in South Africa, and now give it back to you. We do our best to put ourselves in your shoes as a traveler, who may often be scared or nervous traveling to a strange place and space not knowing what to expect, and in the highest consideration of all these factors we plan for your arrival as if we were you. What would I want? What would I expect? Then we do our best to exceed those expectations just for you and your family. Often our very hard work and preparation goes unnoticed but we hope you find our extra efforts in cleanliness and detail more rewarding than a 5 star hotel with an experience of being at a home away from home.
Justice purchased this House in 2006
Why Justice chose Altadena
You will enjoy the privacy, views from lying in your bed of downtown Los Angeles and surrounding foothill and mountain areas. The property is located within minutes of Old Town Pasadena and just 30 minutes north of Downtown Los Angeles. You will forget that you are in the big city of Los Angeles and when you want the night life or entertainment of the city it's only minutes away. That's what makes Altadena and this location in particular very special, not to mention all the popular hiking trails are at your back door.
What makes this House unique
Please note: No smoking and No Drugs of any kind in the unit or around the property is permitted and if discovered you agree to immediate termination without refund .All friendly and well trained pets are welcomed with an additional pet fee of $95 per pet for pets less than 20 lbs, pets greater than 20 lbs or hairy add $20 to the initial pet fee. *Please: Do not allow pets to sleep on furniture, but bring your own pet bedding and there are designated areas for pets to use the bathroom in front of the home but not on the green grass as the acid from dog urine quickly yellows and kills the grass and it is mandatory that you clean up your doggies poo-poo. Please note Event Terms: If you would like to have a event, baby shower, birthday celebration or film the max number of people is 30 (including current guest occupants) and the event is $1000. All music must be off by 10 pm and all people must vacant the property by 11 pm, in the event you fail or violate this agreement by even one minute and you agree to pay an additional event fee of $500, and you further agree that the hosts or representative thereof may enter the property for the purpose of taking photos of occupants and dismissing all persons (including You the Lessees) from the premises and you agree that the lease is terminated immediately upon violation of the terms of this agreement and no refunds will be issued. If beer bottles and or cigarette butts are found on the exterior of the property and in the yard, you agree to pay and additional cleaning fee of $150. Please know and understand what you are agreeing to before you make this commitment.
Please consider the following guidelines when booking this property:
No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made
Cottage in the Foothills!
Thanks for a great stay, Justice. Great time, comfortable place, great view, nice pool. Thanks so much!
Above the city
Lovely, quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of the city below. Accommodation very comfortable. Not quite the five stars in the description but a unique place with pretty much everything we needed for the week.
The hot water heater broke while we were there and Justice had it replace the very next day.
Great view, ok stay
My husband & I have used VRBO/Homeaway on many occasions and this is the first time we have been disappointed w/our rental. First I will start with the PROS: The view is beautiful, Justice was prompt to get a repairman when we had no hot water. Justice greeted us when we arrived and gave us our key. CONS: We had difficulty connecting to WIFI w/the instructions Justice gave us. Also, we were never able to use the tv unless it was thru our Netflix acct. & that worked 2 days. (Note: before you reserve be sure to note even though it advertises that it sleeps 4, you will be charged per person, over 2 people. That includes any visitors you have during your stay as we found out when some of our family stopped by w/groceries & I received a text from Justice saying anyone in the unit had to have a reservation, including visitors. We have never encountered this w/previous reservations.) We did not have a car but received a text from Justice asking us to move a car. Please note, there are several cars in the driveway so parking will difficult if you have a car.
The house rules are posted prior to any reservation. Their is no parking in our driveway as stated in the house rules, but their is plenty of free and safe street parking. Yes we had an issue with the water heater as any home owner knows that this was out of our control and was addressed and fixed immediately. Any questions regarding how to operate the internet or TV could have been asked as simply as you stated here, but you never mentioned you were having an issue. We state clearly that this is not a home for family events, it is priced very affordably for 2 guests and yes if their additional guests than their is an additional cost, all is stated in the house rules. Thank you
It was a fine room to rent. But the check-in instructions were lacking so we had to get a hotel room
I was disappointed we were not told where to find our room on the property or that there was a lockbox with the key. Our flight was 1.5 hrs late, then time change was that night. We rang the doorbell and texted but no one came to give us a key and tell us where our room was. So I rented a hotel room at 2:30am and spent an extra $160.
We are sorry you were disappointed that no one answered the door after you arrived after 1 am in the morning, 2 hours later than your original stated time. We offered the late check in as a courtesy and all check in instructions are already present within the reservation. Thank you.
Ok - but could easily be great
First thing, Justice was friendly, polite and mostly accomodating. Although we were told we could check-in any time after 4. When we arrived in LA, we messaged him about getting into the property and he said he would meet us for check-in. I told him we would be to the Cottage between 4:00-5:00 depending on traffic, he agreed and then a later said he had to run errands and to come after 5. We ended up having to kill about 35 minutes - with groceries in the backseat.
Unfortunately the weather was cooler than normal - down into the 30's a couple of nights. The only source of heat was a very loud space heater that we had to shut off at night in order to sleep. There was another space heater in the bathroom but we couldn't run it because it popped a breaker, so Justice gave us another space heater that was very small and did very little to help.
The place has nice views at sunset and sunrise.
The bed is comfortable but does sag in the middle a little. There are a couple of non-stick skillets (all have lost the non-stick aspect), a couple of sauce pans, a toaster, small coffee maker, pizza pan, cutting boards and collander. There was no kitchen towels - although there was a sponge and dish rag. There were 4 of each eating utensil and several sharp knives that were not sharp enough to slice through an onion - they all just kind of tore it. Also, plates and bowls. There are no storage containers. There was also no hot pad, which made getting the hot pizza pan out of the oven very exciting.
There is no regular cable, satellite TV - everything is through the internet. This allow us to access our own Netflix account. Only problem with this was when the internet service quit and we sat for 45 minutes before contacting Justice and then another 1/2 hour waiting for him to run back and forth between the Cottage and main residence trying to figure it out - which he did. He told us we were trying to reconnect to the wrong modem, but we were following the instructions that were on the fridge.
There were 4 bath towels - all very nice. The bedding was also very nice. The Cottage was also clean and seemed to be well maintained. For the price I wouldn't detour anyone from wanting to stay - I just wouldn't go overboard to make sure someone tried it. In fact, if the price hadn't been as reasonable, we would have given 3 stars.
We loved staying at the beautiful cottage.
The property was lovely and the host Justice was kind and helpful; but we definitely had our privacy. It was very quiet and peaceful, clean and comfortable; we most definitely will stay there again. Bring your yoga mat- that was the only thing I was missing.