Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Farmhouse w/Private Pool Overlooking Panoramic Country & Distant Sea Views

Bedrooms 4
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Farmhouse in Gharb, Island of Gozo,Malta - Peaceful Location,5 to 8 Mins Drive to the Beach, 5 Mins from Shops

Authentic 430 year old beautiful farmhouse, situated on the outskirts of the tranquil sought after village of Gharb. The house itself offers a grand entrance into a huge mature front garden from an arched drive in, which leads to a comfortable combined kitchen/living/dining room full of traditional features including mangers, arched ceiling and a functional fireplace. The patio door from the living room leads onto a lovely terrace overlooking a large mature back garden offering a shaded area with BBQ and a partly overflow pool measuring 8.5 x 5m. As this property is situated between two gardens it gives a feeling of a house 'in' a garden and not a house 'with' a garden. Experience the sunset from the pool area surrounded by lovely open country and distant sea views. It is truly a home away from home which embraces the beauty of fine Mediterranean living.

Andrew Portelli
Member since: 2009
Speaks english, german, italian
Calendar last updated:
23 October, 2017

About Andrew Portelli

I am a Local and Live in Gozo. I have 2 children. Whenever possible I spend our holidays generally in Europe. We have some good friends overseas that we always look forward to visit whenever we are on one of our trips.

Andrew Portelli purchased this farmhouse in 1991

Why Andrew Portelli chose Birbuba

I love the area as part of my roots come from this wonderful traditional village.

What makes this farmhouse unique

I call it the house 'IN' a garden and not 'WITH' a garden. The Farmhouse is situated on the outskirts of the tranquil sought after village of Gharb in Gozo. Conveniently located 5/7 mins walk or 1 min by car is the supermarket. Restaurants, shops and beaches are in the vicinity of the property. Just ask for information when booking and we shall gladly be of assistance.



Accommodation and facilities for this holiday farmhouse rental in Birbuba, Malta

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
  • Town
  • Village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Shower room 1 - toilet , shower enclosure
    Shower room 2 - toilet , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , bath with shower
    Shower room 3 - toilet , shower enclosure
  • Adjoining shower - bedroom 1 with shower, sink, wc, En-suite shower - bedroom 2 with shower, wc, sink. En-suite shower - bedroom 3 with shower, wc, sink. En-suite Bathroom - bedroom 4 with shower/bath, wc, sink. Shower - by the pool.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8/12 (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 - with double bed. Bedroom 2 - with 2 single beds. Bedroom 3 - with double bed. Bedroom 4 - with 3 single beds. ALL BEDROOMS ARE FITTED WITH PAY AS YOU GO COOLING AND HEATING AIR-CONDITIONING UNITS
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • long term rentals available
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
  • Private Chef
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes on accommodation: All bathrooms/shower rooms have high pressure hot/cold water system. Outside: Front mature garden with a slightly elevated seating area with sunbeds and umbrella perfect for reading. Large mature back garden with a big terrace overlooking the pool (8.5 x 5m), BBQ, deck area with sunbeds and shower. Dining table under the shade of a covered bamboo canopy. Beautiful views ideal for an afternoon coffee/tea watching the beautiful sunset. Utility Room: Washing machine and large double basin with ample/linen towel storage. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Maid service on 2 weeks stay. They will come on the 7th/8th day to change linen/towels. Additional charge for laundry/cleaning service. Other: The sitting room and all the bedrooms have a fan.The farmhouse maintains its original stone features and walls throughout. A full size '' TABLE TENNIS '' is now available for our guests to enjoy.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(12 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
25% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Farmhouse w/Private Pool Overlooking Panoramic Country & Distant Sea Views
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 12 reviews

Razzett San Dimitri was a dream.

  • 5 of 5

Almost 500 years old Farmhouse with so much character it did not disappoint . Absolutely spotless and so well maintained .Great wifi too .Everything is exactly as described and more...Maria and Andrew are so welcoming and friendly .Maria left us an amazing home made pasta sauce and pasta for our first dinner there,plus other goodies,like ham ,cheese,cakes and wine..We spent 5 days there and we were a party of 6 ,2 children,2 teenagers of 16 and 2 adults and we all absolutely loved it.The house is situated at the end of the village with amazing views of the country side and sea in the horizon ..The weather was incredible in the late 20 almost reaching 30 so the pool was well used.So many places to hang out in and all was there that was needed.The toaster broke on the second day and when i mentioned it to Maria another was delivered straight away.We did not have a car but buses are every hour and the walk to the village of Gharb is just lovely and has all the convenience shops,Chemist,Restaurants,short walk to the beach.Maria organized a taxi from the port to come and pick us up which was great to and we booked the same taxi to take us all back to the airport which made it so easy as we left so early in the morning.

I could not recommend this wonderful place enough and the people,just amazing hospitality...We all loved it and will be back..Thank you so much Andrew and Maria...All the Best..Nadia and Jeremy

  • Review Submitted: 28/10/2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

One of the best Farmhouses we've stayed in

  • 5 of 5

We've been coming to Gozo for some 27 years now, and we started our experience and love for the island in Gharb, so it was lovely to find a real 'Farmhouse' again in the Gharb area.

In all honesty I can say with hand on heart that this has been one of the best that we have stayed in, the grounds, the view, the space and the superb swimming pool area was absolutely perfect.

We were a party of 7, with 5 adults and 2 teenagers and the facilities were perfect.

The property was fully as described, very clean on arrival, with maid service one a week to clean and change the beds and towels. There was Wi-Fi so everybody benefited by that.

With the growth of Gharb you now some great restaurants within reach, plus shops and a chemist, you couldn't want for more.

The other major contribution to our perfect stay was that you couldn't have wished for two better host and hostess, the owners, Maria and Andrew Portelli, they were so welcoming and friendly, and so very accommodating, nothing was any trouble, they kept in touch to check that all was well and whether we needed anything.

If anyone is looking for a traditional Gozo style Farmhouse in a great location with peace and quiet, and they want to relax, then without doubt this is the place. I wouldn't hesitate to book it again, and most likely will.

Thank you Maria and Andrew for making this year's holiday very special.

Regards Glynn and Sandra

  • Review Submitted: 03/09/2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Atmospheric Farmhouse

  • 5 of 5

I fell in love with Razzett San Dimitri from the photos, description and positive reviews. We have been to Gozo before and I hoped the farmhouse would suit our family of 7 aged from 13 to 64 for a week's summer holiday. I was not disappointed. We arrived as weary travellers to a warm Gozitan welcome from Andrew who with Maria also arranged the efficient and reliable taxi/car hire. We soon began to explore this intriguing property. It is a magical place, full of character and charm both inside and out. If you are looking for a pristine, sterile, minimalist rental this is not for you. If you are after an authentic experience with plenty of spaces to socialize yet also find quiet corners then get booking! It would be a great base for a special celebration as it oozes atmosphere. Our poolside BBQ party watching the sun go down is etched in my memory. In terms of location the restaurants of Gharb and San Lawrenz are within pleasant walking distance. Rangers is a family favourite and makes for a cheap night out up on their rooftop terrace. Salvinas is a new find for us and delightful. The Birbuba bus stop is 5 minutes away and the number 312 takes you at 18 minutes past the hour into Victoria Bus Station from Monday to Sunday, early morning to late at night in the summer. A 2 Euro ticket bought on board lasts 2 hours so you can stay put and enjoy the Citadel, market, shops and historic centre or hop on any other bus from the hub to explore the island, knowing you can get back home again via Victoria easily and cheaply at 2 mins past each hour. (Try Ta Pinu Basilica, Xlendi Bay for swimming, water sports and restaurants, Marsalform for a more touristy resort and the Azure Window at sunset.) St Mary's independent supermarket is handily on the way in to the capital; Lidl and Waitrose (Arkadia) are just down the hill past the Theatre / Police station. The Red Hop on Hop off Bus Tours seem popular but very pricy at 18 Euros per person for a day ticket and less frequent by comparison. On an island measuring only 10 x 5 miles nothing is very far away but car hire does give flexibility and access to gorgeous bays, fertile valleys and quaint hilltop towns. Walking too takes you off the beaten track. Finally regarding housekeeping, any minor issues were resolved quickly and attentively by the delightful and genuine hosts. Thank you, Andrew and Maria. Missing it already and I've only just unpacked!

  • Review Submitted: 04/08/2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Nice villa - poor cleanliness.

  • 3 of 5

Everyone else has remarked about the villa's lovely gardens and general location (Gharb) so I won't waste time repeating that.

One thing I will say right away is that if you, or anyone in your party are allergic to cats, you should maybe think twice. The owner asked us if we would feed the two cats who continually come around the villa. He has a large gravity-feeder in the rear pool area with dry food, but asked if we would serve them wet food and left some wet food pouches. There is nothing in the description about cats and I note no-one else seems to have remarked on it. Thinking about it, I feel it's a bit cheeky to ask holiday-makers to feed the cats. What if someone is allergic to cats? Or doesn't like them? Or just doesn't want to feed cats on their holiday? Oh and I forgot, he asked us to feed the fish in the goldfish pond as well. A bit presumptuous!

We actually arrived in the very early hours of the morning on the 23 Sept. We were supposed to get the keys out of the letterbox which would be left unlocked for us. It wasn't, and if it wasn't for my wife's slim fingers being able to reach down inside the box to get the envelope with the keys in, we would have had to sleep in the car. Not a good start.

We had to call the owner to attend three times in the first three days, and in fairness, he always turned up. The third time was for the appalling smell coming from the bidet. Using the bidet on a daily basis kept the smell to a reasonable level but it never went away fully. The owner said we were the last renters for the season and that he was going to have it removed when we left.

Although the villa itself is lovely, it is let down by being grubby and dirty. The light switches, electrical sockets, fridge door, in fact anything that you touch, were all filthy. I took photographs, but there seems to be no way to upload them. I'll try on the facebook page. The owner is clearly not checking that the maid service he employs are doing their job and cleaning things. And they clearly aren't. The cleaners had two shots at cleaning the villa, once (presumably) before we arrived, and again a week after we arrived. Both times they failed miserably. Just to be clear to any experienced Gozo villa renters - I'm not talking about the usual dust from the soft stone, I'm talking about cobwebs and dirt.

A nice villa let down by being grubby and dirty.

  • Review Submitted: 11/10/2015
  • Date of Stay: September 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First of all we are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with certain things at the farmhouse. In view of the 2 cats, my husband always ask the clients if it matters or bothers them to feed them and this was certainly done in the usual manner. Should any clients prefer not to feed them, this is why we leave the feeder and water in the back garden. As you agreed to feed them with no hesitation and mentioned that you had a cat at home, we had no idea that it bothered you in any way. In fact, these are 2 friendly stray cats that come and go since they are also fed by the neighborhood. What’s more important is that they are never in the house but in the back garden. The pond is there for the people to enjoy and usually most clients enjoy feeding the fish but if anyone is bothered by it we could always leave fish tablets in the pond that bother no one. It’s just a matter of communication. As regards to the letter box we never leave it open but we inform all our clients to lift the latch and we never had a problem. And for sure we would never have allowed it that you spend the night in the car because you had my contact number just in case you had any problem finding the house or getting in there. As regards the bidet, Andrew came in immediately to see to the issue and explained that since no one uses the bidet, it may have had some trapped water in the pipe which may have caused a foul smell on the first use. In fact, Andrew offered to send in the plumber right away but you told us not to bother with it. In view of cobwebs and dirt, we are sorry to hear this and we will make sure that the maids will pay extra attention. However, I’ve to say that we do check after the maids and we always make sure that our clients are happy and comfortable in the house. Having said all this, we would have appreciated that you communicated with us about these issues while you were staying here; certainly we would have taken care of it immediately and would have taken all measures to make your stay more comfortable. Also, as we always do, we would have liked to come and say goodbye before you left to thank you for your stay and to hear your comments but unfortunately you weren’t available. However, we appreciate your comments and regret any inconvenience caused. Regards Maria and Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Amazing Farmhouse

  • 5 of 5

We booked Andrew and Maria's farmhouse for a week long stay with friend. 5 of us in the party altogether. The property could not have been more perfect, located at the quiet (Western end) end of Gharb. To walk through the big wooden doors in the wall upon arrival and to see the house for the first time simply left us speechless (although it was 5am!!). Andrew and Maria had left us some instructions and in the kitchen they had gone to the trouble of providing us with some provisions - milk, butter, bread - and on further inspection had cooked us a fabulous pasta lunch which was in the fridge and left a bottle of Gozitan red wine on the table! Throughout our stay our hosts couldn't have done more for us - on the first day they even gave us a lift to the larger supermarket in the village as we weren't sure where it was. That's customer service!!

The property was fabulous. Spotlessly clean and comfy, the perfect place to chill and unwind (it was our first break since a few days off at Christmas).

The bus stop (we didn't hire a car, no need on Gozo) is 5 minutes walk back towards the village and the restaurants in the centre were all excellent too. Our favourite was Rangers Bar, run by new owner David. We ate in there 3 times during our stay. The village centre and restaurants are just over 10 minutes walk (down then up again on the road!) and you will feel hungry when you get there.

All in all, our third visit to Gozo in 18 months was made extra special by this property and its hosts. 10 out of 10 all round. Thank you Andrew and Maria.

Tim & Lisa Bruce, York, UK (23-30 May 2015)

  • Review Submitted: 05/06/2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
York, UK

Absolutely stunning - a real piece of history

  • 5 of 5

This farmhouse in Gharb is absolutely breathtakiing when you open the big wooden doors. We have never stayed in such a fantastic property. The private pool area was a real gem offering a huge space. Although the farmhouse is in the countryside the bus stop is only a 5 minute walk with the local shop and restaurants only approximately 15/20 minutes walk - all very accessible and on this basis I would say a great location. The owners, Andrew and Maria were absolutely brilliant and could not do enough for us. Their Gozitan hospitality is priceless. I would highly recommend this farmhouse to anyone, it is superb.

Thanks again to Andrew and Maria, we hope to see you and your family again.

  • Review Submitted: 03/06/2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0


Car: recommended

Special interest holidays:

Gozo offers excellent diving facilities. English language lessons thoroughly prepared by a TEFL professional and experienced teacher on request.


All beaches, sandy and rocky can be reached within 10 to 15 minutes driving.


We can arrange car/motor hire, bicycle hire, boat hire and airport transfers. Car hire is recommended.


Distance to Victoria capital of Gozo in 10 mins. Distance to all other villages and historical places in 10 to 20 mins drive. 10 to 15 mins drive to the popular bays of Marsalforn and Xlendi for both locals and visitors alike offering a variety of restaurants and bars.

Further Details:

Gharb Village offers very good restaurants, supermarkets are all very nearby and bus service down the road from the property.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday farmhouse in Birbuba, Malta

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
21 Jun 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees


Changeover Day:
Check out not later than 11.00 hrs and Check in at 16:00. Yet adaptations are possible.

Notes on prices:
Prices are for the property per Week in €uros.(including utilities and maid service).
For further prices for persons in access of 6 please refer to owners. We make it a point to answer to your request '' AS SOON AS POSSIBLE ''.

An ECO Tax has been introduced with effect from 1st June 2016 and this is payable at the house. This is set at 0.50c per adult (18 years & over) per night and capped to a maximum of Eur 5.00 per person per stay.

25% deposit is required to secure the booking. Payments must be received in full 8 weeks prior to rental. In certain occasions a refundable security deposit will be required. Should the booking not be subject to a refundable deposit any breakages or damages need to be paid for at an agreed cost. Please contact the number given or email.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.