Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

Farmhouse with Private Pool

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Farmhouse in Gharb, Gozo, Malta - Extensive Country and Sea Views

Like all old Maltese and Gozitan farmhouses, it still retains an abundance of old world features like niches, stone archways and 3 feet thick rural walls which are typically known to keep warmth in winter and cool in summer. The painted Maltese tiles are very attractive and give extra warmth and color to the sunny atmosphere that already prevails in this delightful holiday home. The house is located on two levels plus a roof terrace, with two of the bedrooms accessed from the courtyard on the ground level. The master bedroom has an adjoining bathroom and the second bedroom has a bathroom just next door. Both bedrooms have a dressing room for more comfort or maybe can easily accommodate a portable cot for a baby. The third bedroom with bunk beds is on the first floor.


Owner
Kenneth Tanti
Member since: 2010
Speaks english, french, spanish, italian
Calendar last updated:
27 March, 2017

About Kenneth Tanti

I am a well established interior designer in Malta. We design any type of residential property. This is what lead me into wanting to design my own properties and rent them out. I also do love the beach and the summer months in Malta and hence got this property that is close to the sea - the unspoilt Maltese sea.

Kenneth Tanti purchased this farmhouse in 2000

Why Kenneth Tanti chose Island of Gozo

This farmhouse is at the end of the village with extensive country and sea views. The perfect place to detach and relax with everything at a stones throw away from you.

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday farmhouse rental in Gharb, Malta

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
General:
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower enclosure
  • There are a total of 3 bathrooms in the property. The en-suite off the main bedroom has a bath tub and the other bathroom off the other bedroom has a large shower. On the first floor one can find another bathroom with shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Both bedrooms have their own bathrooms and walk in closet space. The third bedroom is equipped with an antique Maltese wrought iron bunk bed.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • bay
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: The house is perfect for a family or two couples that want a relaxing vacation under sun filled skies in a peaceful location. The three-story house is entered off a quiet village street and opens onto a small inner tiled courtyard. The pool off the back of the house is a great place to relax and cool off. It's an ideal setting for leisurely meals or a great place to simply sit, reading a book or watching the spectacular sunsets. The upper terrace provides a quiet retreat where you can simply look up at the dark, starry night sky, and perhaps sip a glass of wine. Outside: The house benefits from four private outside areas - the shady Moorish style entrance courtyard, a sunny terrace off the kitchen with table and four chairs ideal for breakfast, a roof terrace affording all day sunshine and expansive views of the sea and surrounding countryside and, of course, the pool deck with two sun loungers, chairs, table and parasol. The pool is approximately 24 square metres and its water is kept crystal clear by its attentive owner! Utility Room: Utility room is available and is equipped with washing machine, ironing board and cleaning equipment. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All towels and linens are provided and will be changed over when the maids come in and clean once a week. Further cleaning arrangements may be made on request.

Reviews

4.5/5 -
(2 traveller reviews)

Farmhouse with Private Pool
average rating of 4.5 based on 2 reviews
Kent, UK
4

A traditional house better suited to summer lets

  • 4 of 5

A very traditional Gozo farmhouse more than 400 years old in a quiet position on a quiet no through road. We were met by Alfred Tanti. We had been slightly worried due to the lack of communication from the Tanti family prior to our arrival, with no confirmation of receipt of the final payment for example, but after several e-mails from me to various members of the family shortly before we left home Alfred telephoned me, thus allaying my fears.

It rained for two of our days and the open central courtyard, which you cross to the bedrooms and bathroom, gets very wet. It doesn't flood, as it slopes slightly, and there is a squeegee, but it is interesting! Also the rainwater starts trickling down the open stairs eventually from the open upstairs area. My wife's bedroom downstairs was a bit damp after the rain, the limestone soaks in the moisture, we wondered why there was a dehumidifier parked in the bedroom! The gas cooker needs upgrading as the markings had gone. The portable gas heater in the sitting room didn't work so I changed the cylinder for the barbeque one (not difficult but instructions would be useful for the first timer) but then found that the gas seemed to be leaking from the connector, so we lit a fire instead. Would also suggest perhaps some furniture on the very lovely upstairs roof terrace, though there are stone seats. To summarize, a very lovely house with many original features, not heavily modernised, but could benefit from a bit of attention to detail (e.g. dud light bulbs, TV remote out of batteries, round pin lamp in one of the bedrooms etc).

  • Review Submitted: Dec 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thank you very much for your kind feedback. We do apologise for the miscommunication. When we finally got our emails up and running again, we did explain that the problem was that we weren't receiving each others emails. It seemed to be a problem on both ends caused by the SPAM filter. It's always wise to add email addresses to your known contacts in order to avoid this. Yes the house is as you say and as it is explained in the description, a 400 year house with an outside courtyard so understandably if it rains it will get wet. In Malta, every household has a portable gas heater. When the gas tank finishes it is a very simple procedure to unclip the safety valve and reclip a new tank of which we have available under the stairs. We cannot know when it will finish, there is no gauge. If you contacted us we would very happily explained how to do it and would have even guided you to a youtube video that shows you how. It cannot leak as the tank has a safety feature in it. Thank you for pointing out the batteries ran out. We will change them. They were working before your arrival. Although the idea of furniture on the roof is nice, it is impossible. It tends to be windy and they will get blown away, planning authority does not allow it and also the furniture will risk damaging the 400 years old stone slabs. Thank you for suggesting that. It's a pity it has been raining quite a lot more that usual. It has been years since our islands have been so green. The limestone does absorb water it's true. Houses in Malta, especially 400 year old ones, as mostly built to keep the heat out. I hope you enjoyed the warmer sunny days and the uniqueness of our sister island Gozo. Wishing you the very best
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beyond Expectations!

  • 5 of 5

There were no VRBO reviews for this house and the pictures were clearly professionally done. These two facts gave me pause. I should not have been worried. The house was better than the photos. How often does that happen? The owner was extremely communicative. My cell did not work in Malta so he had the housekeeper, the delightful Manani, meet us in the village square. The house was perfect, spotless, lovely and well laid out. There is a rooftop deck with benches and a great view. We ate breakfast every morning in the dining room by the pool. The kitchen has pots, pans, etc. We have three kids and they all had their own nook. There was also a nursery to the delight of our 8 year old. Don't plan to much traveling around Gozo because you will want to enjoy the quiet village and the house. A grocery store and excellent restaurants are 5 minutes from the house. There is a paved road that leads to rock window behind the property that is stunning. You can also easily drive to the lighthouse nearby for more great views. Check out the beautiful town of Xlendi. The sea spray actually hits you while you have a cocktail on the the wharf. Eat at The Pirates Galley in Xlendi. Best fish and lamb I have ever eaten. Ask for the owner Angelo and his son Jacob. Can't say enough about this property.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 20, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Car: recommended

Coast/Beach:

Gozo is as though one has just stepped back in time. With some of the most beautiful coastline at your disposal. Fantastic country walks and completely submerged in history. The village of Gharb is one of the oldest and most picturesque villages on the island. A true gem of the Mediterranean.

Distances:

Gharb is close to any point of Gozo (well everywhere is close on Gozo). Beaches are a 10 minute drive away. Country is all around the farmhouse and one can venture out on lovely walks setting off from directly from the farmhouse. The main village of Victoria (Rabat) is also a 10 minute drive away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday farmhouse in Gharb, Malta

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
March / April
1 Mar 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$171
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add A$21 per night, per additional guest
 
May
1 May 2017 - 31 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$186
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add A$21 per night, per additional guest
 
June - September
1 Jun 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add A$21 per night, per additional guest
 
Oct-Dec
1 Oct 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$171
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add A$21 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Stay tax €0 per night, per person. This amount will be due to the owner upon arrival. Does not apply to children under 18 years.

Booking Notes:
Please enquire.

Changeover Day:
Please enquire.
From June 1st, 2016, an Environmental Contribution Tax is being introduced in Malta, which is payable on arrival and has not been incorporated into your booking charge.
The amount payable is 50c per night per adult over the age of 18, up to a maximum of 5 Euros per continuous stay.

A 50% deposit is required when booking the property, with the remaining balance due 8 weeks before your holiday.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable