Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Wi-Fi, Newly Remodeled, Great View, 50' Cable TV

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

We now have Wi-Fi!!! New flooring. New tile bathrooms! New 50' tv with Blu-Ray! Come enjoy all the new changes to the house and the same GREAT view of the lake that our guests have come to treasure!

Welcome to Cooper's Cottage at beautiful Barren River Lake, Kentucky. This beautiful cottage is a single family residence with a second-story breakfast nook and deck. Our lakehouse cottage offers breathtaking views of the water, a location merely two miles from Bailey's Point campground, dock, and recreation area; as well as being convenient to Barren River State Park, gas stations, and the best fried catfish in the south.

The cottage is a three bedroom, two bath home, and a full kitchen including a microwave, dishes, pots, and pans. Everything to make your vacation easy and economical. The house sports two queen-size beds, and a full bed, as well as a breakfast nook that can be used for a sleeping area. The house is approximately 1600 square feet so it provides plenty of room for a family or couples looking to share a vacation rental. The kitchen is fully stocked with pots, pans, microwave, stove, and a refrigerator.

We request a minimum of a two night stay and a three night stay on holiday weekends. If you book six nights, you will get the seventh night free. We require a 25% deposit on all bookings and have a 15 day cancellation policy. Minimum rental age of 25. No Pets, No Smoking, No Illegal Substances Allowed.

Close to hiking, biking, fishing, hunting, wild-life viewing, swimming, water-skiing, knee-boarding, wake-boarding, jet-skiing, tubing, and boating. Bailey's Point a short two mile drive also hosts camping, has children's playgrounds, concessions, and sponsors movies nights during the summer season.

In addition, the lakehouse is merely 30 minutes from Bowling Green, Kentucky home of the National Corvette Museum and Plant. We are less than an hour from Kentucky Down Under and Mammoth Cave National Park, which offers horseback riding, spelunking, and various other sightseeing activities.

The lakehouse is also close to Harper's Restaurant - offering what we think is the BEST fried catfish in the south, a convenient store, gas stations, and grocery store, and we are happy to provide directions to any of these activities.

Keywords: House, Barren River Lake, Barren River, Scottsville KY, lakehouse, Barren River Lake cottage

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2006
Speaks english
Response time
Within 12 hours
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
29 November, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

What a beautiful view! It was a little chilly to be out on the deck, so we moved the kitchen table in front of deck doors to enjoy the view. This was a perfect spot for us - close to family, room for all of us to be comfortable. Very clean! We will definitely return!
Nov 2015
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Scottsville, Kentucky

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • video player
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
2 Queen Beds, 1 Full Bed, Breakfast Nook, Double Deck, 2 Full Baths

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(23 traveller reviews)

52% Complete
30% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Wi-Fi, Newly Remodeled, Great View, 50' Cable TV
average rating of 4.173913 based on 25 reviews
4

Mix of "Lovely" meets "odd"

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. The kids loved the loft in the kitchen and ate there every day.

Things to know:

This house was very nice and odd. There are 3 front doors on the porch that all go to the same house with a door on the side of the house that leads to the master bedroom. (Pics of house should be of what to expect) We wanted a 3 bedroom, but they don't tell you that you have to go through the master bedroom down a hall to reach the other bedroom (where the side door is, which made us a little uneasy because 2 of our kids were sleeping just feet away from it).

The 2 bathrooms were very nice but the shower head in the main bathroom is a 1" pipe where water shoots out in a sort of shower fashion, the master bedroom bathroom shower head was awesome, so all 5 of us showered in it instead.

The bedrooms were nice, love the decor. Pillows were super soft and loved the comforters.

The living room was comfy, but the couch and love seat were badly draped with ill fitted covers. The tv is a great size, cable is good, but any shows above Pg are blocked with a code. There is a blu ray player and a few movies. The wifi is less than 1MB/per sec, yes i tested it. I imagine that if you hooked up directly to the modem itself with a cord you might get a faster internet. It worked for my phone, but not the laptop.

There is a washer and dryer in the kitchen, the a/c is throughout the entire house which is great! Many pots and pans, lots of dishes cups and silverware (we had 5 ppl eating) but be sure to wash anything you are going to use, since the last tenants are the ones that washed or didn't wash them.

My expectations weren't that high, but having surprises that could have been easily known beforehand with just more pics would have been helpful.

What needs repair? There is no fridge handle it broke off at some point, not sure when, but i read in older reviews that it was missing and assumed that the owners responding to that review that things had been fixed that the handle would be the first to be taken care of, but no. There is a handle on a wine cabinet that needs to be put on that we found inside the cabinet. There are other little repairs that are needed but not essential, just the fridge handle really and with it being in clear sight and not being taken care of after it was noted by the customers and the owners is why I am giving it 4 stars.

The weather was hot & literally 1000's of mosquitos were on both decks. Probably better in winter

  • Review Submitted: 31/07/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Sad

  • 1 of 5

Really just a flophouse.

Dirty, no view of water, bed like a hammock.

Sorry to be this way but I have pictures if you want to see.

  • Review Submitted: 30/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thank you for the feedback on your stay, and are truly sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay. The home was built in the 50’s and we have routinely replaced, and renovated various aspects of it over the 10 years we have been in business. This is part of our effort to offer an improved customer experience each and every year, and part of the reason we believe we have such a large percentage of return rentals every year. We hope potential guests will take the time to read the many other reviews we have with 4 and 5 stars, and realize that our goal is to have satisfied guests who enjoy their stay and want to return every year! We do have a view of the water from the back deck, but do not have water access to the lake because of the cliff we are located on. We try to be very clear about this in the description of the house, and in answering questions for potential renters. The trees around the back deck allow you to see the lake from the back deck but still have some level of privacy from the boat traffic. Several renters have commented that this is the right combination of view and privacy. The shade from the trees and ambiance of them is also part of the draw of a lake vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bikini atoll, Hawaii,Europe
5

Cute cottage on the lake ,good for small family

  • 5 of 5

The property was clean nicely equipped and well-maintained, had a very good relaxing stay we would stay here again if in the area , hosts were very nice and helped us with any problems that arose

  • Review Submitted: 23/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice peaceful convenient location with great fishing

  • 4 of 5

Very spacious and great area. Several restaurants within 20 minutes and very close to a nice state park called Bailey's Point. Fishing was excellent and only a 10 minute drive around the corner from the cottage. Very nice and great value.

  • Review Submitted: 16/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tucson, AZ, USA
3

Charming Cottage

  • 3 of 5

Very cute place and close to the lake. Bathrooms seem to be recently renovated and are nice, with plenty of towels and hot water. The kitchen and beds/bedding could use some updates. The mattresses weren't great and the sheets were very thin. The kitchen is tiny and stocked with just the basics. The refrigerator is beginning to show its age, had a broken handle. You can cook a meal but don't plan on hosting a gourmet dinner party. We would have really enjoyed the decks and the scenery but the bugs got there first (it's summer in Kentucky, not much you can do about that). The wi-fi was a little spotty and made streaming TV tough, but the kids were happy with the Playstation and all the games provided. They also had a great time exploring outside-- the area is beautiful! Communication with the host was easy and check-in process was smooth. If you aren't too fussy about the amenities, you will enjoy this place!

  • Review Submitted: 15/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Kentucky vacation

  • 4 of 5

Overall stay was great and nice area! Only issue is there were too many branches and trees covering the view to the beautiful lake and scenery.

  • Review Submitted: 14/08/2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Tractor Pulls (Saturday nights only) :)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house on Scottsville, Kentucky

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
AU$166
From
AU$200
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$27 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning AU$46.61
Tax Rate 7.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable