Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Cedar Cottages Blackmans Bay

Bedrooms 5
Space 40 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights


About the property

Cedar Cottages Blackmans Bay is a welcoming place to get away from it all and enjoy the beauty of Southern Tasmania. Located in the gorgeous seaside village of Blackmans Bay, only 15 minutes south of Hobart city centre and close to the shopping centre of Kingston, our cottages are flexible in the range of options available. Your children will love the swing sets and cedar cubby house at Cedar Cottage.

Cedar Cottage, a spacious 4 bedroom single bathroom house, comfortably accommodates up to 8 people, Country Cottage, a comfortable 4 bedroom house accommodates up to 10 people, Country Suite a modern 3 bedroom house accommodates 8 and Cedar Loft sleeps 2 adults and 2 children. All cottages are fully furnished and self contained. All linen is provided and BBQ's are on site.

Cedar Cottage has 2 queen size beds and 4 singles, Country Cottage offer 1 queen size bed and 7 single beds and 1 futon, Country Suite offer 1 queen size bed, 2 single beds and 4 king single bunk beds and Cedar Loft has a queen bed and futon bed or cot for your little one.

We can accommodate for groups of up to 30 people.

We can also provide a lock up garage by negotiation.

Come and stay with us and enjoy the magnificent views across the mouth of the Derwent river and out to Iron Pot, the oldest operational lighthouse in Australia. With only a 400 meter walk to Blackmans Bay Beach this is an ideal base for your relaxing holiday in Hobart.

Our aim is to provide excellent accommodation at the best possible price. Discounts may apply for multiple nights and your pets are welcome and can be securely kept in our fully fenced yard.

Blackmans Bay is a central base for exploring many great Tasmanian attractions, including The Antarctic Division Headquarters, The Huon Trail, Tahune Air Walk, Hastings Caves, World Heritage Area, National Parks, MONA Museum of Old and New Art and of course all the sites of Hobart.

Cedar Cottage Blackmans Bay, Holiday Houses in Kingston Blackmans Bay close to Hobart CBD and MONA Museum of Old and New Art

Cedar Cottage Blackmans Bay, Holiday Houses in Kingston Blackmans Bay close to Hobart CBD and MONA Museum of Old and New Art

Tourism Tasmania Accredited since 2006

Cedar Cottage Blackmans Bay 2 x 4-bedroom Holiday House, 3-bedroom Holiday House and one Studio Apartement

Cedar Cottage has 2 queen size beds and 4 singles, Country Cottage offer 1 queen size bed and 7 single beds and 1 futon, Country Suite offer 1 queen size bed, 2 single beds and 4 king single bunk beds and Cedar Loft has a queen bed and futon bed or cot for your little one.

More Details

Stefan Muenchhagen
Member since: 2005
Speaks english, german
Calendar last updated:
2 March, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Blackmans Bay, Australia

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 40 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • City Centre ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 single bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 single bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sofa bed/futon
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

43% Complete
43% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
Cedar Cottages Blackmans Bay
average rating of 4.1875 based on 16 reviews
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Great property and helpful host

  • 4 of 5

Had guests from overseas who first time stayed in a local cottage instead of hotels. thoroughly enjoyed the privacy and comfort of home away from home. 18 guests housed in 2 cottages which were comfortable and clean. host was very helpful throughout booking process. host also responded to email promptly during our stay about housekeeping. Thanks Stefan

  • Review Submitted: 22/03/2016
  • Date of Stay: January 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia


  • 2 of 5

We stayed at cedar cottages for 4 nights 5 days, and were a group of 11 people

- Housekeeping was very poor.

- The TV was not working. Remote were without batteries. had to call the owner.

- The kitchen dishes, pots and cutlery were dirty. Within no time the gas cylinder was over and we had to connect the other gas cylinder. Kitchen floor was dirty

- For such a large group we were provided with 3 toilet rolls. I have stayed in a number of places within Australia and never had to go and buy toilet rolls.

- The hot water system was not efficient to bathe 11 people

- The quilt covers were dirty and smelly.

- The electric blankets were not working.

The cottage is at a good location, minutes to shops and beach and close to bruny island. It would be great if the housekeeping is improved and make the guests more comfortable.

  • Review Submitted: 28/09/2015
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you for staying at Cedar Cottages. We are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. Please note that this is a self-contained holiday house ad not serviced during your stay. We supply only start up toilet paper supply. The TV is fine but previous guest played around with cables and I came personally around at night time and sorted it all out. All electric blankets work 100%. You requested to have the house filled with more than default configuration therefore the extra bed did not have an electric blanket and that might also explain the hot water situation. We always have two gas bottles on site. Twice a year a bottles runs out and you simply switch over to the second bottle with a switch, which was ready for you. The kitchen floor was not dirty but collected over the years some marks and scratches. This will be addressed in the near future. Thank you for staying and all the best for the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rockton, IL, United States


  • 2 of 5

pictures can be deceiving.owner not on site,which is bad.cover on futon was very dirty.very few towels.rollaway bed was for a two year old.

view is amazing,price good,good location for us.outside needed a good power

washing,grounds needed to be spruced up. Tasmania is a wonderful,wonderful

place to visit. Would not stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 11/03/2015
  • Date of Stay: January 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks you for your feedback. Please note that we are self-contained, but we supplied more fresh towels on request even during your stay. Our fold-up beds are commercial grade and was only supplied as you requested it. Thank you for staying at Cedar Cottages Blackmans Bay
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bangkok Thailand

Cosy place

  • 4 of 5

Nice and cosy house. Near supermarket and near the beach. Quiet area.

  • Review Submitted: 02/03/2015
  • Date of Stay: January 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Castlemaine, Victoria, Australia

Very relaxing

  • 4 of 5

A perfect spot for a relaxing break - I caught up on a year of sleep here!

Things I wish I had known:

The wifi is available near the owners house only - it doesn't extend to the Eco cabins.

The fridge is a small bar sized fridge (not a problem, but we did our grocery shopping over an hour away in Wynyard and bought too much for the fridge).

There is an electric frying pan and four burner gas cook top but no oven.

Bring your own laundry detergent. There is a free washing machine on site, and a coin operated dryer (but the wind dries everything within a day easily).

The couch in the oyster catcher Eco cabin was two seater and very uncomfortable, synthetic and slippery material which makes the cushions come off the couch a lot.

The kitchen is great - we love to cook and it was well stocked with pots and pans and utensils

Bed very comfy - I did lots of napping!

Great location - away from the hustle and bustle and you have the beach to yourself most of the time. Great long walks to be had and some beautiful swimming.

Hosts Janette and Chris were very helpful with any queries we had.

  • Review Submitted: 08/01/2015
  • Date of Stay: December 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent property

  • 5 of 5

A great spot to stay in Hobart with a lovely view, would definitely recommend The Beach restaurant which is down on the beach front if you're looking for a nice meal. The house was comfortable and clean and plenty of room for the 8 of us staying. The only small complaint is that the chairs in the lounge weren't that comfortable.

  • Review Submitted: 16/02/2014
  • Date of Stay: December 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Other Activities:



Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made

Other Holiday Properties