Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

3BR/2.5BA, Walking Distance to US Capitol & Downtown w/FREE OFF-STREET PARKING

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,864 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

This is a beautifully renovated home located within walking distance to all the major sites and attractions DC has to offer. Centrally located near the Downtown Business District, only a 15 minute walk to the DC Convention Center, Chinatown, and Union Station. The Metro station is a short 10-12min walk from the home (New York Ave Station - Red Line) and is the best form of transportation to all area attractions such as: The National Mall, The Smithsonian, Museums, and the world famous Cherry Blossom Parade & Festival. Walk 1 block to North Capitol Street and get a wonderful view of The Capitol. Terrific dining, shopping, and entertainment is nearby on the U STREET CORRIDOR. We offer FREE off-street parking!

Property Address: 40 BATES STREET, NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001.

The Bates Street Suites is a 2-level row house with (3) bedrooms, (2) full baths, and (1) half bath. It comfortably sleeps (10) guests. Bedroom (1) contains a Queen-sized bed with private bath, dresser w/ mirror, huge walk-in closet, access to deck, & TV. Bedroom (2) contains a Full-sized bed, dresser w/mirror, & TV. Bedroom (3) contains a Queen-size bed, futon, dresser w/ mirror, & TV. In addition, there are also two full-sized futons in the Living Room. The property features a fully-stocked kitchen, washer & dryer, newer appliances, dishwasher, microwave, blender, coffee maker, pots & pans, & Flat Screen TVs. We have also lots of exposed brick walls, great sky lights, free telephone service, satellite cable, high speed internet access with WI-FI to surf the web anywhere in the house or outside on the deck.

A NON-REFUNDABLE $49 Property Damage Protection is required.

DC Lodging tax is 14.5%... DUE TO THE ECONOMIC CONDITIONS, WE'RE NOT CHARGING TAX!!!

Keywords: Vacation Row House

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2008
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 May, 2018

About The Owner

I handle the business & marketing side from the background whereas my Property Manager does all the hard work. Our guests really appreciate his efforts and makes a note of it in the reviews.

The Owner purchased this house in 1990

Why The Owner chose Truxton Circle

I chose to convert my home into a vacation rental based on demand in the DC market.

What makes this house unique

I believe you will feel very comfortable. It feels like a home away from home.

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Truxton Circle

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1864 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • City Centre
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Bottled Water
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • local restaurant guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed , 1 sofa bed/futon
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3) We have three full size futons for sleeping.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • games - kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • video player
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wooden decking
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(53 traveller reviews)

64% Complete
33% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3BR/2.5BA, Walking Distance to US Capitol & Downtown w/FREE OFF-STREET PARKING
average rating of 4.6226416 based on 53 reviews
4

Very comfortable home; clean, well-maintained and decorated home.

  • 4 of 5

The house was very comfortable, well furnished. The outside neighborhood needs some love and care. A neighborhood clean-up/trash collection would be great. Hopefully, someone will buy the vacant houses on the block and renovate them

  • Review Submitted: 17/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your positive 4-star review. We're happy to hear you found the house comfortable & well furnished. Street cleaning takes place twice per week, hence the parking restrictions, to allow the sweeper to pass thru. Trash collection also happens twice a week. I'm only aware of (2) vacant houses on the block and both recently sold for $550K+ and both are CURRENTLY being renovated.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it!!

  • 5 of 5

This place was great! There were 10 of us in town for a wedding and needed a place to stay. The location was great and there was more than enough space for all of us. The block we were on was the cutest and we never felt unsafe. We were arriving early so they let us check in as early as we needed, and the same for checking out a few days later. When we arrived, the city had accidentally turned the gas off in the house (they were supposed to turn off the neighbor’s). Sherman was very helpful and quick with getting it turned back on. Thank you for adding to an amazing first experience in D.C.!!

  • Review Submitted: 19/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We’re glad to hear your first experience in DC was amazing. We strive to make every guest feel welcome. p.s. the neighbors’ gas leak has been repaired.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

This house was an amazing find. Good sized bedrooms and bathrooms. Good, walkable restaurants nearby. Will book again.

  • Review Submitted: 02/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m glad you found us. Please ask for a discount if you book again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
-
4

Great house in an up and coming neighborhood!

  • 4 of 5

When we pulled up to the house I was a little nervous looking at the neighborhood. Not to mention, a police car was on the street and the officer told us to take everything inside the house or it would be stolen. A little disappointed that the electric gate did not come down in the back, but informed by Sherman that it didn't work. It was much all much ado about nothing. Cars were fine all week. Neighbors were friendly. Nice easy walk to metro. House is beautiful inside as pictured. We were a group of 10 (4 adults, 6 kids) and fit comfortably into the house. We would recommend buying a good set of knives for the house. We did a lot of cooking and a good knife was the only thing lacking. We didn't see Sherman while we were there, but it was the week of the Fourth. He didn't answer the phone when we called, but he did return the calls in a timely manner. Overall good stay and I would recommend it to friends.

  • Review Submitted: 12/07/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear "it was much ado about nothing", and you found the home beautiful and the neighbors friendly. We do not advertise the electric gate in the rear because maintenance is a nightmare. We'll buy more basic knives as quality knives keep disappearing. Sorry you didn't get to meet Sherman, he was probably busy with his other properties during the holiday weekend. An overall good stay & a recommendation to friends is what we like to hear!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great for a group

  • 4 of 5

House is exactly as advertised. We were a group of 5 adults, plenty of room, parking was a good bonus as we had a car. There were problems with the A/C, but Sherman couldn't have been more accommodating, even offered to move us to hotel. A bit of a walk to Mall and Union Station, especially in the heat.

  • Review Submitted: 28/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: GOOD NEWS: The A/C unit (condenser) has been replaced! We hope your partial refund was more convenient than a move to a hotel. Thanks for confirming the house is exactly as advertised.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great property.

  • 5 of 5

With our daughter and grand children we toured DC for a week. This is a great location for the price point and the apartment was well appointed and clean. If you feel like walking, the Capital building and other sites are less than a mile away. If you want to ride, the metro is just a few blocks away. There is a new Harris Teeter grocery store just a few blocks away if you want to eat-in as we did. And Sherman King is a great host as he provided us everything we needed that was not already in place. We had a wonderful week. (if you plan to tour DC, bring your walking shoes!!!)

  • Review Submitted: 23/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you found the home well appointed and clean. As usual, Sherman is always accommodating.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
DCA
Nearest Train
0.89 Miles
NEW YORK AVE Staion (RED LINE)
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
N.Capitol and Florida Ave
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Busboys & Poet
Nearest Point of Interest
Home
Nearest Point of Interest
Metro

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Truxton Circle

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Nightly Rate
2 Jan 2019 - 28 Feb 2019
2 night minimum stay
AU$264
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
AU$395
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee AU$197.7
Property Damage Protection AU$77.76

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties