check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Anil Kapur

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks english, spanish, Hindi

Fully Furnished English Basement Apartment in Historic D.C

36 Reviews
Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Photos and Description of this Northwest Washington holiday apartment

Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)

Fully Furnished English Basement apartment recently renovated with great amenities. Large 1BR, 1BA in Historical Woodley Park area.

Woodley Park has one of the best locations in Washington D.C. Just steps from the Woodley Park-Zoo Metro station and a short walk from Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan, this Washington DC address is incredibly convenient to all of the city's museums, art galleries, embassies and universities.

Woodley Park is a beautiful, safe, historic neighborhood located in the heart of Washington, D.C. Our English basement apartment is located in a beautiful downtown neighborhood which has a lovely combination of quiet residential streets and downtown conveniences, offering our guests a selection of excellent local restaurants for lunch or dinner, pubs and diners for live music or a late-night snack, and gorgeous residential streets for a morning or evening run or walk.

Further Details: Run through the National Zoo (opens at 6:00 AM); run along Massachusetts Avenue and admire the architecture of many of the foreign embassies; head into Rock Creek Park and jog all the way to the National Mall; or stroll the beautiful grounds of the Washington National Cathedral. All four of these beautiful destinations are within blocks of our front door.

Dining Options Galore -- There are many excellent restaurants and sidewalk cafes close to our home. Within blocks towards the Metro station, your choices include American, Italian, Indian, Lebanese, Pan-Asian (great Sushi!) and Afghan. Or walk to Cleveland Park and visit our favorite Italian restaurant. Or if you prefer a traditional old fashion Steakhouse, Indian, Italian, or Mexican, they are in the same area. Take a short walk down Connecticut Avenue toward Dupont Circle and you will find the Russia House and many other ethnic restaurants along Dupont Circle as well as in Adams Morgan.

Conference Attendees - Our house is situated one block away from the Marriott Wardman Park Hotel , a couple of blocks from the Omni Shoreham, and a short metro ride to the Walter Washington DC Convention Center. Are you attending a conference at the Marriott Wardman Park Hotel or the Omni Shoreham? Disappointed that these large institutions are full for the conference or you prefer your own privacy and personal touch, then we suggest that you book with us.

The Best of All Worlds -- Our incredibly convenient and beautifully renovated apartment offers you self service continental breakfast, a quiet and comfortable room, free high-speed secured internet access, a full menu of available channels on cable TV that can be viewed on an HD flat panel screen, and an I-Pod stand for your use which also includes an AM/FM radio. Bring your laptop and you can work in the quietness of the apartment.

Our apartment offers the perfect combination of old fashioned hospitality and modern technology and amenities.

The large bedroom with a queen size bed and accented brick wall with Japanese doors that separates the living area for personal privacy. The bedroom size is 15 feet x 13 feet which is a little less than 200 square feet. The trim along the walls is accented in wood to It includes closet space and a chest of drawers for your convenience.

The living area includes a sofa, comfortable lounge chair, ottoman and a 42 inch wall mounted fully equipped cable HD TV. The living area size is about 19 feet x 16 feet which is slightly more than 300 square feet.

The kitchen and breakfast area which is a fully functioning and well equipped kitchen has granite counter tops and dish washer. There is a small patio off the kitchen area equipped with lawn chairs. A quiet spot for a cup of coffee in the morning or an evening cocktail.

More Details
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Anil Kapur (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks english, spanish, Hindi

About Anil Kapur

A couple who has lived in this wonderful historic and safe neighborhood for about 30 years. We are actively involved in various cultural and social activities in the local neighborhood and find the city has a lot to offer.

We love the vicinity and what the city has to offer in terms of its cultural, political and rich ethnic diversity.

Anil Kapur purchased this apartment in 1982

Why Anil Kapur chose Washington DC

This is our primary place of residence. We recently thought we would rent our basement apartment to vacationers on a short term basis.


based on 36 traveller reviews

Fully Furnished English Basement Apartment in Historic D.C
average rating of 5.0 based on 36 reviews
Salt Lake City

Relaxing stay during a conference

  • 5 of 5

Stayed for 5 nights during a conference that was taking place at the Marriott Wardman Park. I found the apartment to be meticulously clean. The apartment has a modern kitchen with high-end appliances (which means the fridge is extra quiet). The furnishings are very tastefully chosen and make the stay delightful. The apartment opens into a backyard and a back alley, which makes it very peaceful.

Anil made all the process extra easy. The breakfast supplies are a very nice touch which will make your mornings so much nicer.

Next time I am back for a conference I am staying here again!

  • Review Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

What a wonderful apartment

  • 5 of 5

I attended a conference at the marriott wardman and it was so wonderful to come "home" in the evening. The apartment is comfortable and beautiful. They provided breakfast food and were very welcoming. I will definitely be back!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 19, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello: Thank you for your kind words. I am glad you had a good conference, found the apartment easily accessible to the Marriott, and wanted to come "home". You are always welcome to return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I returned home a few days ago from a week stay in DC where we stayed in this apartment. The apartment was clean and well furnished. The living room was a comfortable place to hang out after a long day sightseeing. The bed was great. The bathroom was also nice. The pictures on the website are accurate.

We very much liked the neighborhood. We always felt safe walking to the apartment from the metro stop, about 3 blocks away - it is almost all uphill to the apartment from the metro but it is downhill to it! It is an easy trip to and from Reagan to the apartment. It took us about 45 minutes the morning we left for home to walk to the metro until we arrived at DCA. We rented a car for two days at the Washington Hilton which was perhaps a mile away and pretty convenient. A cab ride from the Lincoln Monument was about $12.

The owners of the apartment were quick to respond to any needs we had. Unfortunately we did not get to meet them in person as they were away on business - but maybe we'll have better luck next time.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 31, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay with us and the kind words of your review. We too are sorry we did not have had the pleasure to meet during your week stay with us. I am sure we will correct the situation the next time. Thanks again and hope to you will us and the Nation's Capital again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, GA

Beautiful, relaxing hideaway

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at this property while attending a conference at the Woodley Park Marriott. The location was perfect: just a shirt walk from the hotel and many close-by restaurants (not to mention a Metro stop). More importantly, the apartment was beautifully appointed and very comfortable, with all the amenities you could need. The "landlord" is very friendly and helpful and had stocked the apartment with lots of great snacks and breakfast options. After a full day of conferencing, this was a perfect place to relax and enjoy some peace and quiet! I would definitely stay here again, and hope to do it while on a vacation, rather than for a work trip.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 27, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello: You were so busy with your conference during your short stay, that we hardly had a chance to meet you. Hopefully, you will return for a vacation to enjoy the history and culture of the Nation's Capital as it has so much to offer. Thanks again for the kind words.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cedar Rapids IA

Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5

This was my second stay in this beautiful apartment. I look forward to a return in the future because this is as comfortable as my own home. The owners go out of their way to see you are comfortable and have every amenity you could possibly need. Most important to me is the cleanliness of the apartment, the laundry facility in the apartment, and the well- stocked refrigerator and cupboard for breakfast and snacks. The location is perfect as it is close to the National Zoo ( perfect for a morning walk and a stop for coffee at Starbucks), a couple of blocks to the Metro stop, many restaurants, convenience store and pharmacy. This is the perfect time of year to visit as the weather and flowers are beautiful. The owners are outstanding!

  • Review Submitted: May 25, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Sandra: Thank you so much for these very kind words. You know you are always welcome to return. Best wishes, Anil
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Plymouth, MN

More than the comforts of home with a great location!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at this lovely home was more than what we could have expected. All that is described about this property in photos and the listing is accurate. What can not be described by the humble owner is the generosity so freely given. All will feel comfortable and at peace in this gracious home. Anil and Martha have created a wonderful apartment, that is very thoughtful. Their personal hospitality was outstanding, and a huge part of our DC experience.

The bed is so good we needed to check the mattress for a future purchase. The living space is extremely comfortable and accomodating. The substantial breakfast supplies and the entire kitchen took care of all of our needs. If you have the opportunity to visit in the Spring, their garden is beautifully alive and peaceful.

The neighborhood is safe and friendly, with extremely easy access to public transportation. That being said, it is a peaceful refuge into quiet and we took many late afternoon walks in the beautiful surroundings after a busy day exploring DC.

We plan to return the next time we have an extended visit to the DC area. You will not be disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: May 13, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Rosemarie and Tim: Thank you for your kind words and am so happy we could have partly assisted in the wedding ceremonies. It was great having you as guests. Hope you visit the Nation's capital in the near future. Best wishes, Anil and Martha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
National Reagan Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Zoo Bar
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Haines Point Public Golf Course
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Amtrak -- Union Station
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday apartment in Northwest Washington, Washington DC

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Winter Rates
2 Jan 2017 - 30 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee A$163
Tax Rate 14.5%

Cleaning Charges $125 for stays one night and less than one week.

No cleaning provided beyond one week stays

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment rental in Northwest Washington

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • One queen size bed sleeps two comfortably
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • wooden decking
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • boating
  • horse riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • tennis