Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Shack at the bay Binalong Bay

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house

Overview

About the property

The Shack at the Bay is simple and cosy beachouse located on the top of the hill at Binalong Bay. Ideal for a couple to escape the rat race and enjoy the myriad of local beaches, walks and mountain bike trails on offer.

Protected from the street by established native gardens, you can enjoy the ocean views or relax in the large garden in peace.

With the north-east facing open plan kitchen living area, surrounded by an extensive balcony, you can enjoy sunshine all day, inside or out. A large, lockable storage area downstairs is ideal for those looking to store their mountain bikes during their stay.

Ideal for a couple or small family, the Shack at the Bay offers two bedrooms (one queen bed and two single beds), a modern bathroom, fully-equipped kitchen/living area with modest but comfortable furnishings.

Soak up the atmosphere of the Bay of Fires, famous for its pristine beaches and coastal walks or head into the hinterland to walk or bike through the many forest trails on offer.

Lonely Planet recently nominated this location as one of the world's top spots and stated "this is the secret edge of Tasmania, laid out like a pirate's treasure map of perfect beach after sheltered cove, all fringed with forest . . . now is the time to visit!"

Simply furnished Shack at the Bay offers the comforts of home, without the hustle and bustle of everyday living. Enjoy a home-brewed espresso every morning from your own coffee machine, followed by a short stroll for breakfast, lunch or dinner at the cafe.

If you'd rather stay in, the fully-equipped kitchen will allow you to make the most of the locally-sourced seafood, cheese, wine and gourmet delights on offer along the coast and in the hinterlands.

Activities offered in the area and surrounds include: mountain biking, swimming, canoeing, kayaking, scuba diving, surfing, deep sea game fishing, golfing, tennis, bushwalking and cycling.

Accessible noteworthy locations for a full or part day road trip from Binalong Bay include: Pyengana Dairy Company (arpprox 30 min drive), St Columba Falls (approx 40 min), Blue Derby Mountain Bike trails (approx 1hr), Freycinet National Park, Wineglass Bay, Coles Bay (approx 1 hr), St Helens village/wharf/shops (10 mins).

Pets allowed on request.

No smoking please.

More Details

Owner
Catriona Nicholls
Member since: 2008
Speaks english
Response time
Within 2 days
Response rate
90%
Calendar last updated:
26 May, 2018

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Binalong Bay, Australia

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 large double bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • forests
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(29 traveller reviews)

51% Complete
41% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Shack at the bay Binalong Bay
average rating of 4.448276 based on 29 reviews
3

Pleasant but overpriced

  • 3 of 5

Perfectly adequate altho some milk to start us off would have been appreciated as no shop. Also problem w arrival as phone no. did not work and I was unable to download the app and so had no instructions or means of contacting the host. It was v unpleasant to arrive at end of the day and not be able to get in. The house was sunny and roomy. Thanks

  • Review Submitted: 10/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jill, My apologies for the inconveniences you appear to have had with your stay at the shack at the Bay. My records show that you were sent a comprehensive message through the HomeAway system with detailed access information — so I am unsure why you did not receive this. I am not sure how you managed to get in, but assume from your comments that you did. Likewise we have not had issues with our phone number with previous guests so I am unsure why you were unable to contact us. Thank you for your feedback regarding the milk — we will certainly take that on board. Kind regards Cat
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great 'shack'!

  • 5 of 5

What a lovely space. Great location, close to beautiful secluded bays, comfortable and homely accommodation. Kids loved the books and games. Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: 09/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Katanya, So pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay at the shack — come back and stay with us again anytime. Kind regards Cat
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

It was just..... hmmmm ok. Unlikely to recommend

  • 3 of 5

The place is as described I guess.

Although It’s pretty tired and run down. Has had a new shower and basin which is a an improvement. The rest of the shack needs a lot of work.

The place felt like it could use a really good deep clean. Lots of spiders webs around the inside and dust.

The first floor decking needs some attention outside.

Master bed queen small and didn’t sleep well at all.

Says can sleep 6. 3rd bedroom downstairs in the laundry. I wouldn’t want to sleep in there that’s for sure. Second bedroom you have to walk through to get to bathroom which if with friends not family could be interesting.

All that aside it has the basics and serves a purpose if thats what you’re looking for.

Binalong Bay is delightful and picturesque. I would highly recommend doing the eco boat tour. The team did a great job and the Lichen Restaurant is excellent.

The shack is not down near the water it’s up on the back at the top of the hill.

The experience and beauty of the bay really is what was great about the trip. The accommodation as per title was ok but unlikely to recommend the shack but would recommend Binalong Bay.

  • Review Submitted: 02/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Richard, Thanks for your honest feedback — I'm sorry you didn't sleep well. Just a few comments in response to your feedback. The Stayz/HomeandAway site add CLEARLY states the shack sleeps 4 (not 6) and we do not allow guests the use of the downstairs bedroom. The description on the website (see below) also clearly states the house is at the top of the hill and ideal for a couple or small family. It also states the house is modestly furnished. A floor plan available on the website also indicates the layout of the bathroom (access via the second bedroom). When we get inquiries for more than two guests I always respond and point out the floor plan as I am aware of the risk of groups of adults needing privacy. I can't really be held responsible for guests not reading the information available (see below): The Shack at the Bay is simple and cosy beachouse located on the top of the hill at Binalong Bay. Ideal for a couple to escape the rat race and enjoy the myriad of local beaches, walks and mountain bike trails on offer. Protected from the street by established native gardens, you can enjoy the ocean views or relax in the large garden in peace. With the north-east facing open plan kitchen living area, surrounded by an extensive balcony, you can enjoy sunshine all day, inside or out. A large, lockable storage area downstairs is ideal for those looking to store their mountain bikes during their stay. Ideal for a couple or small family, the Shack at the Bay offers two bedrooms (one queen bed and two single beds), a modern bathroom, fully-equipped kitchen/living area with modest but comfortable furnishings. I will certainly pass your feedback onto our cleaner. Kind regards Cat
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
5

Perfect for our trip

  • 5 of 5

Loved the choice of board games, set up was perfect for us

  • Review Submitted: 23/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Kate — so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
5

Even better 2nd time round.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed a few months ago with our border collie and we loved the place so we returned.

Recommend for those who want a traditional shack experience. Just lovely.

Sue, Greg and Poppi the bc.

  • Review Submitted: 22/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
4

Lovely spot

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful 5 night stay at "Shack at the Bay" it was very comfortable and warm. The sun just poured in which was blissful. Lovely views and even though it was very windy I'm pretty sure we missed out on the worst of it as the shack has plenty of trees to provide a barrier. Everything you need is provided and the quality of the linen was good. Just a couple of items we had to buy. Some pegs and a colander which we left. Thank you for having the fire ready to light as we arrived in the dark. And the games were a thoughtful addition. We would recommend this shack and would love to return next winter. Thank you.

  • Review Submitted: 19/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Karen, Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. My apologies about the colander and the pegs!! We certainly had both those items and had not been advised otherwise by our cleaner (although it would be understandable if she missed them). I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We would love you to stay again. Kind regards Cat
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Other Activities:

Beaches

Photos

Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties