Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

inthelonggrass cottage

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Inthelonggrass cottage provides clean, affordable family and small group accommodation in a beautiful bush setting.

The views are outstanding, the birdlife abundant and the air as pure as you will find in the Otways.

If you are looking for a base to explore the area our cottage is ideal.

We are situated just 30 minutes from Lorne, 40 minutes from Apollo Bay

and a short drive to numerous other destinations including Lake Elizabeth,

The Otway Fly and Erskine Falls.

Having lived and worked here for over 20 years we can help you plan whatever sort of holiday you are looking for.

For those of you who enjoy mountain bike riding we are just a few minutes ride from the Yaugher trail head mountain bike tracks. The extensive network of tracks are some of the best in Australia and we have free maps available detailing the rides from beginners to advanced.

Our land backs directly on to the Otway National Park so a world of riding and walking is just a stroll away.

We offer you comfort, space, great local knowledge, peace and quiet and flexibility from as low as $90 per night.

We are an easy 2 hour drive from Melbourne and the new Geelong bypass makes the trip a breeze!

The cottage sleeps up to 6 people with a well equipped kitchen, shower, bath

and plenty of outdoor living space to enjoy the magnificent views. We also

welcome pets and have a secure pet enclosure so you can take in the sights

of the Otway National Park, knowing that your pet is safe.

Our cottage is equipped with 4 single and 1 queen bed, heating and cooling,

full size fridge, BBQ, TV, DVD, Video and Radio. All linen is supplied and

pets are welcome by arrangement.

Long Weekend Rates apply

PLEASE NOTE THAT LONG WEEKEND RATES ARE PRICED ACCORDING TO PEAK RATE NOTED BELOW

More Details

Owner
Jean Hodges
Member since: 2009
Speaks english
Calendar last updated:
19 April, 2018

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage rental in Barwon Downs, Australia

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed , Queen bed
    Bedroom 2 - 4 single bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • forests
  • winery tours
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(33 traveller reviews)

54% Complete
36% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
inthelonggrass cottage
average rating of 4.3636365 based on 33 reviews
1

This cottage is very basic and I never back.

  • 1 of 5

This cottage is very basic and poor condition. Around the cottage is fence and you cannot walk anywhere. The water always stop to come and TV, DVD doesn't work very good . All pillow are from a few years a go and I don't like this place. It is to expensive and NOTHING to show. I never back there any more.

  • Review Submitted: 04/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you did not enjoy the cottage. The property is on 40 acres with access to the Otway National Park so plenty of walking. The next tenants advised us of a fault in the pump which we fixed immediately. You did not advise me of an issue. The TV and DVD are in perfect working order but some guests have trouble with changing the source from TV to DVD. The cottage is basic and the price reflects the standard of accommodation to expect. The setting and views are what people come for and enjoy. Apologies for your experience but we can’t fix what we don’t know about.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Victoria, Australia
4

Good

  • 4 of 5

We thiuroughly enjoyed stsying over there, peaceful and beautiful place

  • Review Submitted: 27/09/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Amrita. I am glad you enjoyed our little piece of the bush.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable cottage in great location

  • 4 of 5

We loved our stay at In The Long Grass Cottage! The cottage is basic but very clean and comfortable, and the hosts are lovely. The location is fantastic for exploring many of the main attractions of the Otways - incredible waterfalls, Californian Redwoods, Lake Elizabeth, Otway Fly etc, and still close enough to the coast to head down there. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Review Submitted: 25/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
4

Rustic

  • 4 of 5

The cabin delivered what it says it is - it is basic but with everything we needed. It was also a great place for our dog and convenient to lots of attractions, beds comfortable, shower great, and equipped kitchen. I also appreciated the privacy it offers. It suited us well for a quick get away for a few days. It was extremely cold when we were there (-2% in the morning) and with little insulation or window coverings, it was difficult to get really comfortable. So probably wouldn't recommend in extreme weather conditions. Otherwise, it is a good cheap base to explore the area.

  • Review Submitted: 01/07/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
5

Rustic beauty

  • 5 of 5

Great little place, had a great time....thanks Jeanne!!!!

  • Review Submitted: 22/05/2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2

Beautiful rural location but very basic

  • 2 of 5

Good if you are looking for very basic accommodation on a budget.

  • Review Submitted: 28/03/2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Other Activities:

Otway National Park

Photos

Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties