Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Schatzi's on Shalimah

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

This property has the option of being rented as a 1 or a 2 bedroom property

Originally an old miner's cottage, Schatzi's on Shalimah is a fully renovated two bedroom cottage. It is set up as a quiet couple's weekender however the second bedroom can be made available at a small extra cost for a small group seeking a Hunter getaway.

The large yard is fully enclosed with lovely lawns and shading trees for both pets and owners to while away their time when not busy sampling the wares of the many nearby wineries.

Inside

The cottage has all the mod cons including luxuriously appointed bathroom with heating and spa, the kitchen is well fitted out and includes fridge, microwave, electric oven, gas cooktop and even an espresso machine!

The lounge is a cosy space with reverse cycle air con, large LCD TV, DVD player and CD player.

Location

A lovely park is just a minute's walk away with Vincent Street (the hub of the town) within 5 minutes walk. Here you can enjoy breakfast or just a coffee at one of the many dog friendly cafes.

More Details

Owner
Maria Cunningham
Member since: 2009
Speaks english
Calendar last updated:
18 April, 2018

Why Maria Cunningham chose Cessnock

Schatzi's on Shalimah is my home away from home and I hope you think of it as yours. It's close to the vineyards but you don't then need to jump in the car to go to the shops, pubs or restaurants as there is such a variety to choose from in town. Convenient for tour pick ups, there is a vast array of possibilities for tasting wine, food, vodka and chocolate and so much more!!

What makes this cottage unique

Schatzi was our German Shepherd who loved to explore and run which the big land size allows. Named in her honour it's a very rare property in that your beloved pets are most welcome inside when you're there to supervise with throws provided should you choose to have them on the furniture with you. When you're not at home and if you choose not to take them with you, the large fenced yard gives them room to play and, if you feel that they might be determined diggers or fence climbers (the fences are 150-180cm high all around) they can always be left in the 'doggy space' within the house, safe and sound until you return.

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage rental in Cessnock, Australia

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • This lovely bathroom has a heater, spa bath and 2 shower-heads for those who like to share showers. The showers are over the bath so not necessarily suited to those who have difficulty stepping in to a bath.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed , Queen bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed , Queen bed
  • The cottage is set up as a 1 bedroom cottage unless notified otherwise. An extra charge of $25/person sleeping in that room will be required to have access to it.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • winery tours
Notes:
The large, secure yard is heaven for most dogs who are also allowed in the house with their people's supervision.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(27 traveller reviews)

77% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Schatzi's on Shalimah
average rating of 4.6296296 based on 27 reviews
NSW, Australia
4

Great value!

  • 4 of 5

My partner and myself stayed at Schatzi's on Shalimah for 3 nights last weekend so that we could explore the Hunter Valley. We specifically chose this cottage because it was advertised as pet friendly and it absolutely did not disappoint.

The cottage was lovely, the bed was comfy and our pup thoroughly enjoyed herself. It had everything we needed and was really very considerate to dog owners, even to the point of providing dog treats which was a nice surprise!

We would not only stay here again but we would recommend it to fellow travellers. Well done Maria, many thanks from our little family.

  • Review Submitted: 24/07/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Ives, New South Wales, Australia
5

Great property

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a fantastic time in the Hunter. Schatzi's was a great spot to relax and unwind. Maria was a great communicator and we had absolutely no worries. We were so glad that we could bring our small dog with us too, she loved the backyard!! We will definitely stay there again. Thanks so much Maria

  • Review Submitted: 09/07/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gorgeous and massive yard for puppers

  • 5 of 5

Gorgeous comfy cottage, clean and fresh, and pupper loved the massive yard and the trees. Maria contacted me the same day of my enquiry, on a last-minute whim for an extra stayover on travels, and we were delighted. Great hot tub and more. Mere minutes to the shops by car. Relaxed for days in this lovely miner's cottage. So happy I shared pictures of us with the owner.

  • Review Submitted: 04/05/2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2

Interesting experience close to the Wineries

  • 2 of 5

Not a place we would recommend. Decent location close to the wineries and all the sites of the Hunter but the owner is not the easiest person to deal with and has no empathy for her guests or their experience. Poor customer service. Very disappointing. Such a beautiful area, with so many options, research before booking.

  • Review Submitted: 13/03/2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
NSW, Australia
4

Comfortable accommodation

  • 4 of 5

Great backyard for our 2 dogs. House good size for my wife, myself and 2 dogs.

Overall comfort in house was good. Comfortable bed, very good bathroom, kitchen good, lounge room good. Would recommend to others.

  • Review Submitted: 25/02/2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2

Enjoyable stay but buyer beware

  • 2 of 5

We enjoyed our time at shatzis. Great location and central to main strip and vineyards. Very accommodating lot for pets and children alike as.fully.enclosed and quite large block of land.

Beware of the price and your deposit as.it seems maria will attempt to seek out excuses to keep the deposit with outrageous claims of damage. No notice of keeping the deposit or reasons why and only given the "reason" upon our chasing up. Absolute disappointment as we were planning on returning but after this poor display of customer service and and communication we would much rather give our business to an honest person.

My advice to future stayers....if you decide it is the place for you no matter how much respect you will treat the property with expect to lose the deposit and just factor it in as part of the cost. Better just to stay elsewhere.

Disappointing maria...would have expected better of you.

  • Review Submitted: 01/02/2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Having never had to withhold a bond before, I didn't realise that the detailed damage report that I submitted to Stayz wouldn't be passed on to you - I apologise for that. Losing just a $100 bond after causing over $400 of damage was pretty good for you! I hope you enjoy your future stays at other properties.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Other Activities:

Hunter Valley Wineries

Photos

Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties