Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Starfish Cottage LakeHouse

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

absolute waterfront, sleeps 11, 2 livings areas, games room, own jetty huge lawn

Amazing waterfront, sunsets, yard, private jetty. Sail, cruise, swim, fish or relax.

Starfish Cottage is perfect for family, or couples getaways. Available after friends said it's too beautiful not to let others enjoy it...Starfish Cottage is less than an hour north on the freeway. Swim, sail, waterski, moor your boat at the private jetty, fish, toast the stunning setsets, swing in the hammock, lounge on the newly refurbished large deck, or rest in the shade of the cabana while the lake shimmers in front of you.

The hardest decision will be shall we ski,sail or paddle now or what book or newspaper to read next... and has that bottle chilled long the small kids splash in the shallow shores and the big kids use all the water toys (Free use of 2 kayaks, a surf ski or dinghy) dive off the jetty, sail if they're boaties or amuse themselves with the pool or air hockey table, play play-station or watch TV in the separate downstairs games room, ride the tree to tree flying fox, or play cricket or footy on the truly massive waterfront lawn. Water-skiers and sailors will particularly appreciate being able to come right into the sandy beach or pull up at the jetty for disembarking.

Plenty of sunlounges and chairs to star gaze at night and watch the spectacular shooting stars whilst listening to the clinking masts of the moored boats and watching for possums and hooting owls. Lots of books, board games and DVD's to wile away the hours.

Summerland Point fronting Frying Pan Bay has the best aspect of Lake Macquarie and Starfish Cottage is in the best street on the Coast with the longest block.

Beds include the queen bed, double bed, double and single beds, two double sofa beds that provide sleeping accommodation for 11 people.

Facilities include

2 toilets/showers,( 1 up/1 down) 1 bath,

2 living areas,(1 up/1 down)

3 bedrooms - Bedroom 1 with 1 queen bed,( with full waterviews) Bedroom 2 with 1 double ( with waterviews) and Bedroom 3 with 1 double bed/single bunk above bed.

2 separate sofa beds,(downstairs games and lounge room)

2 BBQ's, ( one upstairs deck, one downstairs for outside)

2 TV's,

extensive DVD and CD collection and library, board games, separate games room,

Tree tyre swing and tree to tree flying fox that kids love,

2 large fridges ( 1 up and 1 down) and upstairs deck dining or downstairs outside dining facilities.

A washing machine and dryer mean all those towels and swimsuits can be easily refreshed for the next day.

Fans and the lake breeze provide excellent cooling in warmer months while Winter on the water is truly ambiant with lovely gas heaters making Lake watching,book reading and game afternoons an absolute delight.

Charmingly freshly decorated in a starfish/beach/nautical theme on the magnificent largest salt water lake in the Southern hemisphere and providing plenty of places to explore in your boat - Starfish Cottage will seem like a million miles away from your normal life - but close enough to have friends up for lunch, duck over to the Hunter Valley to the Vineyards, make the short drive to the beautiful beaches of Catherine Hill Bay or Caves Beach, dive down to the Entrance, Terrigal or Avoca for something different or meander to the local Summerland Point or Gwandalan Italian or Thai restaurants. If staying casual and living the great Aussie dream of cooking on the BBQ for breakfast, lunch and dinner sounds like heaven, then there's always fresh supplies from the supermarket a quick stroll around the waterfront.

The local liquor shop, newsagency, petrol station, hot bread shop, hot seafood and good old fashioned Aussie hamburger ( with beetroot if you fancy it) and chips ensure your time at Starfish Cottage is going to be going to be congratulating yourself on taking time to stop and smell the roses and appreciate how beautiful life in Sydney is.

If you are feeling energetic or simply had enough of your motorised watersports you can always walk the beautiful lakeside walk, paddle across the bay to the park or grab your bike and follow the trails to Gwandalan or around to the local cordoned off swimming area at the picturesque Sandy Beach.

Mums and dads, small children, teenagers, inlaws, state and international visitors will all love Starfish Cottage - a fantastic taste of Australian waterfront living be planning when you can come back as soon as you arrive.

Location and Attractions

Waterfront literally in your huge front yard..Local parks playgrounds and bushland just a short a quick drive

Only a drive away.....

Fraser Park Beach (7min)

Catherine Hill Bay Beach (7min)

Caves Beach (10 min)

The Vineyards at the Hunter Valley (40 min)

The Entrance (25 min)

Terrigal/Avoca (30 min)

Tuggerah ( 20 min)

Newcastle (25 min)

Raffertys Resort and Restaurant (10 min)

Like us on Facebook at

More Details

Owner
Leisa oconnor
Member since: 2009
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few hours
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 June, 2018

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Summerland Point, Australia

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Smoking allowed
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 4 large double bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • forests
  • winery tours
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(38 traveller reviews)

68% Complete
23% Complete
5% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Starfish Cottage LakeHouse
average rating of 4.5789475 based on 38 reviews
5

Great place put the boat at the jetty the whole week and went fishing every day will return

  • 5 of 5

Loved the place will return

  • Review Submitted: 20/05/2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
5

Simply an amazing experience

  • 5 of 5

Wow..... what a great 4 days we had.....just didn't want to leave. Took 5 of my grandkids to visit family and found our new holiday home. Five kids .... 2 x 10, 2 x 7 and 1 x 5 who didn't pick up any technology for 4 days. They fished, they kayaked, they played bullrush on the front lawn....they simply had fun!! I even taught them quoits!! The home is great and the location is perfect. Sunrises and sunsets are stunning. Very well equipped with everything you need. We felt at home the minute we arrived and didn't want to leave. And at night there was always the family game of pool. Starfish Cottage will definitely be a regular family getaway for us. We loved it.

  • Review Submitted: 30/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ruse, New South Wales, Australia
3

Great location i

  • 3 of 5

We have a boat so could tie up to jetty and leave it there. Grounds perfect for kids. House needs updating. I know the rate is low so wasn’t expecting too much but not having screens on windows and doors is not acceptable. Had to close up of a night so insects didn’t come in so was very hot and stuffy. Should have safety screens on windows so you can leave them open. Only one window had a screen and that was the kitchen and you couldn’t open it. BBQ wouldn’t ignite. Fan would work in one bedroom.

  • Review Submitted: 05/11/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Helen after so many years of such great reviews so incredibly sad to hear that you were upset about your stay especially since neighbours said that with your boat and all your guests you seemed to be having such a great time despite the wet and cool weather over the weekend. I'm so sorry it wasn't what you were expecting. I will check the photos on the website straight away as I am concerned if the pictures of the décor etc looked different when you arrived as I have recently updated them after the new deck, new bathroom, and new exterior painting etc was all completed, so I will check what you might have been looking at. Just wondering if you had been looking at the pictures of the other brand new houses that rent locally ...as you know the prices significantly reflect that they are brand new builds which is why I think so many people say they've loved Starfish since its great value for lovely place in a terrific location at a fraction of the cost of many others. Re your comments 1. The new bedrooms fans all operated by the remote controls that are on the bedside tables. ( The cleaner checked they were operational last week since I keep fresh batteries handy to replace them) Hope you found the remotes. 2. The BBQ lighter is kept on the BBQ side tray to allow easy lighting so do hope you were able to use that. 3. All bedroom windows have screens but yes French doors downstairs and sliding doors onto deck don't...we used to but guests kept knocking them off the tracks and ripping the screens ..so yes after the mortgage, the waterfront land rates, jetty fees, tax, maintenance and mowing fees...and trying to provide what really is moderately priced absolute waterfront accommodation for 11 people with access to kayaks, dingy's, games room,TV's etc we haven't replaced them since importantly, all bedroom windows have screens and in reality, most people choose to sit on the open air deck or on the waterfront often anyway ( neither of which can be screened) and close the deck doors of a night. Again I am very sorry you expected something different I will certainly look back at the photos and see what might have misled you about the quality of the house for the money you paid because it is terribly distressing that after so many years of people having such a lovely time and appreciating both the location and the cottage, that you have been so upset to voice these concerns. ...although on another note I was actually worried over the weekend because it
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Queensland, Australia
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

Great spot great location nice house

Really enjoyed the lakeside

  • Review Submitted: 30/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
5

We'll be back!

  • 5 of 5

5 nights just wasn't long enough. I had a relaxing stay at Starfish Cottage with my 2 dogs. Loads of room, well equiped, comfy beds and amazing views. I'm a keen photographer and the view of the lake gave me a fantastic subject. Next time I will bring my whole family as there is plenty to keep kids and adults amused. The local shops are a 5 minute walk away and has all the amenaties you need, I planned to go out during my stay but found it so relaxing I didn't go anywhere.

  • Review Submitted: 14/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Thank you!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Leisa! Our family had a lovely time away staying at your property. Great scenery out to the large green yard and out to the lake!

We stayed over what was forcasted to be a rainy weekend but the rains stayed away most of the time, so we made use of the kayaks and paddled out! Mum, who's a keen amateur fisherman, stood out in the rain on the jetty trying to catch some fish. The rest of us challenged each other with a few games of pool, darts and charades. We had great fun regardless of a bit of wet weather. Thank you for having a well equipped home. Not once were we bored.

Thanks again!

  • Review Submitted: 09/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Other Activities:

Lake Macquarie,Central Coast

Photos

Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties