Cygnet Hotel is an hour south of Hobart and is centrally located to Tasmania's southern tourist attractions. It has simple, clean, quiet rooms, peaceful surroundings, a licensed Bar, dining room serving country style meals and friendly staff.
Cygnet Hotel is a unique, award-winning, Heritage-Listed holiday destination offering accommodation in simple traditional guest rooms. There are no en-suites. The bathrooms are plentiful and conveniently located just a few metres down the hallway from the guest bedrooms.
There are seven Heritage rooms with shared showers & toilets for $88 for the first night or $420 per week.
guests in Heritage Rooms (1 to 7)are provided with all-day self-serve tea & coffee in the guest lounge room.
There are five budget rooms with shared shower & toilets for $45 (for singles) or $65 (for double or twin share) for the first night. Weekly rates are $160 per week for singles, and $280 for double/twin share ($140 per person).
Guests can enjoy the facilities of a fully licensed hotel.
The hotel facilities are publicly available year-round.
A function venue and catering for special occasions can also be provided.
TESTIMONIALS AND HISTORY
The testimonials from guests of Cygnet Hotel & Guest House are overwhelmingly positive. See the Guest Comments for example. The Cygnet Hotel Guest House has generally exceeded customer expectation. Customers generally have a good experience and feel that they obtain value for money.
The Cygnet Hotel was purchased by Blackmans Bay Motors on 29th September 2012 and is now operated by Scott Turnbull.
".Cygnet has a history older than the founding of Melbourne, and of the settlements of South Australia and Queensland." (Cygnet - A Brief History - by Jean Cockerill )
"The first mention of the Huon area of ... Van Diemen's Land, was made in 1788...
In 1793 Bruni D'Entrecasteaux visited the area and named Kermandie (ec), Esperance Bay and Recherche Bay after his two ships, D'Entrecasteaux Channel and Port du Cygne (place of swans).
In 1802 Commodore Baudin visited Port Cygnet and named the Fleurieu River (later Anges Rivulet). One of his party, Peron, wrote of meeting a beautiful young aboriginal girl - Oura Oura - and her family."
The first European settler William Nichols arrived in 1834. The town was named Lovett in 1862 and there were more than six hotels in the locality, three of which were in the township of Lovett.
The building of the Imperial Hotel (now Cygnet Hotel) began in 1907 and was completed in 1910. The town was renamed Cygnet in 1915 and became the first district to buy bulk power from the Hydro in 1924. The Imperial Hotel was the first building in the district to have electricity.
By the 1930s Cygnet was the central fruit growing region and hotels were often the meeting places for social and business gatherings. In 1948 the Imperial Hotel was sold and to group and operated by a committee. It was renamed the Cygnet Community Hotel. Many of today's older locals remember going to formal events and dances that were held there. The hotel was sold on in 1975 and renamed the Cygnet Hotel. known locally as The Top Pub, it is where all the locals gather for a drink, meal or family get together. Cygnet Hotel is listed on the Tasmanian Heritage Register.
The Cygnet Hotel is now owned and operated by locals Scott & Helen Turnbull.
Situated in the Huon Valley, the rural village of Cygnet is only 55km / 50 minutes from Hobart and is centrally positioned for day trips to various Southern Tasmanian tourist attractions. Cygnet is surrounded by rolling hills and delightful waterways and is ideal for picnics, fishing, bush-walking, boating and has some beautiful scenic drives. A public boat ramp is located near the Port Cygnet Sailing Club which runs regular regattas. Nearby is a wildlife sanctuary area providing a haven for water-birds. There is a local History Museum and several heritage listed Catholic Church buildings.
The region is renowned for its quality agricultural produce with Cygnets' cafés and restaurants, including the Red Velvet Lounge and The Lotus Eaters, having a great reputation with good-food-lovers. The electric mix of creative residents is reflected in the array and variety of art & craft studios and galleries scattered throughout the charming country village.The annual Cygnet Folk Music Festival is an internationally recognised event held in January. The Cygnet Hotel is now owned & operated by locals Scott & Helen Turnbull
Art and Dining