Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Prospect guest house 4km Oval/CBD 2 bathrms/double private carport

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type guest house

Overview

About the property

Walking distance to the wonderful Prospect precinct

The Prospect guest house is in a double brick property with lovely large French windows that let in the light, making it bright and airy. It sits in a leafy inner city upmarket suburb, with free Wifi/internet and within a short stroll to a wonderful cafe/restaurant hub. Coles also sits at the end of the street and at the other end you will find the most wonderful playground/BBQ park.

Recently updated with new flooring/ kitchen and a new second bathroom. It has a double carport, two bathrooms, one inside and a new one outside under the main roof (when looking at the photos it's the door on the left). It has 2 enormous bedrooms, 5m x 4m and 5×5, which sleep up to 8 adults and still offer plenty of room for a cot. Please note the sitting area, as seen in the photographs, is also the main bedroom. This property does not have a separate lounge room. It has 2 huge bedrooms and a large kitchen/dining.

The large main bedroom has a queen-sized bed (plus en suite) and is filled with antique furniture with its own private sitting area. There is an LCD TV on the wall, reverse-cycle air con, and a ceiling fan.

The second and bigger bedroom has 2 double beds and a foldout couch that is very comfy. This room also has a flat-screen TV, a PlayStation/DVD system (supplied on request, with games and DVDs) as well as an office desk.

Its northern aspect to the city means that it's on the same side as the Festival Theatre, Adelaide's new football/ cricket oval and the Entertainment Centre, all about 5 min away. If wine is your thing then it sits on the right side of town to make a quick trip to the famous Barossa Valley (40 min drive). It is also only a 5 min drive to the Adelaide Aquatic Centre and the Women's and Children's Hospital.

Basic condiments are provided. If cooking's not your thing then walk to the end of the street for some of the best cafes and restaurants in town.

Secure, quiet, city fringe location that accommodates pets. The property is surrounded by high fences for complete privacy and pet security.

$15/20 cab fair to the city or a 45 minute walk. Buses run every 10 min to and from the city at the end of the street.

Age-appropriate toys can be provided on request at any time.

The layout of the rooms is:

Bedroom 1 has one queen bed an a stunning sitting room with reverse cycle air con and LCD on the wall.

Bedroom 2 has 2 double beds and a foldout couch. It also has a TV with PlayStation, gas heater and reverse air con.

The dining area also has a delightful wicker cane day bed and can be used for bedding on request.

If extra bedding is required an extra foldout bed and/or cot can be arranged at request.

The cottage has no formal separate lounge room. It comes with a highchair and any other children's/babies' necessities so please ask on or before arrival. Often guests want separate beds so I can arrange up to 6 separate beds if large groups are coming and don't want to share a double bed.

Includes an F&P washing machine in the carport and undercover lines to hang out your washing. I don't advertise that there is a BBQ, however If you require one please let me know and I'll have it brought over for you (it's next door at my other property The Gentleman's Bungalow).

Around the corner is a wonderful playground and a park with BBQ facilities and the North Adelaide football oval where the local residents meet every morning with their dogs to let them off their lead for a run.

Pet friendy optional on enquiry only. Additional charges apply

More Details

Owner
shelley redman
Member since: 2011
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
90%
Calendar last updated:
21 July, 2018

About shelley redman

I have a Bachelor of Business in Hospitality and run four properties on the short term rental market in Adelaide of

shelley redman purchased this guest house in 2008

Why shelley redman chose Prospect

location and size of the bedrooms

What makes this guest house unique

wonderful leafy inner city fringe walking distance to the Prospect precinct

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday guest house rental in Prospect, Australia

Property Type:
  • guest house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 4 large double bed
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
Attractions:
  • winery tours

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(43 traveller reviews)

51% Complete
34% Complete
2% Complete
6% Complete
4% Complete
Prospect guest house 4km Oval/CBD 2 bathrms/double private carport
average rating of 4.2093024 based on 43 reviews
4

Eclectic Mix

  • 4 of 5

Good value and great location for almost anything in and around Adelaide with the plus of local shops and eateries.

  • Review Submitted: 27/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Port Augusta West, South Australia, Australia
2

A week in Adelaide

  • 2 of 5

We live in the far North of South Australia and travel a lot. Often we stay in accommodation offered through agencies similar to this. Prospect Cottage has a great location in a leafy Inner suburb of Adelaide with good cafes and restaurants close by. The surrounds provide a very pleasant place to walk.

The name evokes images of rustic charm. However, while we found the accommodation to be quite rustic unfortunately, the charm was missing.

It consisted of three main rooms, one of which doubled up as a bedroom and lounge room. To get to the only bathroom without going outside guests had to walk through this bedroom lounge. Accessing the second bathroom meant a walk outside along a dodgy narrow sloping pathway.

The kitchen also provided another bed of sorts, in the manner of a bench seat.

When we travel we like to cook a meal without having to eat out all the time. What we found was chipped crockery and a burnt saucepan and other utensils which had appeared to have had another life elsewhere. One of the dishes, a bowl, had been put away with the remnants of the last meal still apparent.

Water pooled in the shower and the walls and doors either hadn’t been painted for a long time or, as in the case of the doors, not at all.

The “rustic “ garden consisted of a struggling patch of lawn with a plastic table and two chairs pushed up against the back fence. There were no bbq facilities, but given the outside surrounds it wasn’t missed.

The laundry consisted of a washing machine huddled in the carport which was secured from the street by a cumbersome ugly brown sliding door.

In short the accommodation was not up to the standard that we have come to expect from this agency. However it would suit an end of year footy team or suffice as a crash pad for a buck’s show. But, at the end of the day, you get what you pay for.

  • Review Submitted: 29/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Peter sorry to hear my "budget" Property that the two of you booked (however had 3/4 extra guests snuck it at no charge) wasn't up to your standards. I like to think the price reflects what you get (as you have stated you get what you pay for) and this is why my property is not $150 to $200 per night for two people. The week cost you and your extended family about $600 and you were disappointed? As I live next door I would have been only to happy to come across and clean the bowl and throw out any chipped crockery. I apologize for the dirty bowl and it will be noted with my cleaner who will also be instructed to go through all the crockery to find chips. I explain (description) that the second bathrm is outside and there is not a separate lounge room. That's why my prices are so good, as these things are considered. Unfortunately pets ruin the lawn but thats what happens when you accommodate dogs. A dog you were going to bring until you realized it would cost an extra $50. Please to say though as you did not bring your dog the lawn had a chance to recover and is almost back to perfection. If there are any pet owners planning on bringing pets please hose down the lawn every night so the grass does not burn. I will be posting up a photo of the outdoor slope to the outdoor bathroom so everyone can see it before they book. It has a normal slope running away from the house so salt damp does not occur. Very unfair to make a comment about the ugly brown sliding gates being cumbersome when while you were staying my maintenance man showed up and fix the problem. These doors now slide back with ease. Unfortunately they are still ugly brown but I like to think that the beauty is within. You asked if 3/4 more could stay and when i said yes for an extra $60 you declined and snuck them in instead. When I questioned why all the beds had been slept in on departure you could not give me a satisfactory answer apart from you had your suite cases on them. This was not the case, I know how my cleaner and I make beds and they extra three that had been made up including the lovely Cain wicker in the kitchen had all been slept in. Yes this is a great venue for larger families on a budget or bucks/hens/birthday gatherings if you intend to go to the city and need a close place to town to stay, that will accommodate 8 people comfortably. The pooling water in the shower will be dealt with ASAP. Hope you have a better experience on your next trip to Adelaide.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney
5

Beautifully presented cottage

  • 5 of 5

This is a gorgeous clean cottage with two enormous bedrooms in a great quite location. Shelley was very accommodating. Highly recommend and will be back to stay again.

  • Review Submitted: 21/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney
5

Fabulous, Cosy and Homely

  • 5 of 5

Great stay, wonderful upmarket suburb, beautiful quaint old style houses and gardens to see in the area. Parks and few minutes away from dining precinct. Neat, clean and newly renovated. Fantastic large rooms with the most comfortable beds ever!! So thankful to find child and pet friendly accpmodation!! Thanks Shelley for your wonderful, friendly service!! We will be back!!

  • Review Submitted: 20/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
5

Hospitality & Friendly Owner

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoyed our recent stay at Shelleys cottage. It had everything you need to feel comfortable & relaxed.

Shelley went above & beyond to make us feel welcome :)

Highly recommend staying at this property,beautiful &,quiet location whilst being close to shops.

Looking forward to staying here again next time I'm in Adelaide.

  • Review Submitted: 19/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

No ps4, no DVD player, no BBQ, bathroom no heater, door constantly rattled, smell of sewerage and accepted dog but then kept bond because of dog hair. Dog was not even on beds!!

  • Review Submitted: 19/09/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes Kerrie I can understand your damming review once you realized you had lost your bond!!! While you stayed I checked on you a few times and you could not be happier, I was not advised of a sewerage smell or a rattling door and I have not had any complaints of such things, a case of sour grapes I believe. Yes your right one bathroom does not have a heater in it, however the other one does. On arrival you presented me with your long haired German Sheppard who would be staying inside with you, I had not been advised of this or asked if it was OK ( a dog like this should not even be allowed inside let alone on the beds). I asked you to make sure her hair be removed from the house on departure and I was sure I had made myself quite clear and of course toilet business be removed from the yard. I also advised if the children wanted the play-station or you need the BBQ just to ask as I do live next door and would bring it straight over. You advised me you did not require it and you did not want your children gaming while on holidays. On departure I broke down and cried I had to throw out all my bedding as I could not get the hair out of it. There was hair under everything and stuck to everything. The replacement of throws and linen including even the towels cost me a lot more than the bond you lost. I had to get my carpets and my new red velvet couches professionally cleaned before new guest arrived. It took me 12 hours to clean the property of all the hair and dog poo. Perhaps all the dog poo left in the yard was what you were smelling. I even tried to call you several times to discuss the issue and sent an text however the only response I got was this after you realized you had lost your bond. I have been running this property on stayz for 7 years and I have never seen anything so disrespectful, so much so I am taking the property of pet friendly status. Sorry to all other pet owners who do the right thing.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Other Activities:

adelaide city/adelaide oval

Photos

Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties