Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

OLIVES; beach, cycling, horseriding or relaxing

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights


About the property

Olives in the grass is a modern architectural designed house- entering you feel the tranquillity- Views over pasture, dunes, the seabreeze, and the amazing sunsets add to the feeling of peacefulness you experience staying here.

Close to Williamsons beach, a little further from Inverloch and Cape Patersons' wind-, surf, and children safe beaches - 15 minutes from Phillip Island, and 5 minutes from Archies creek's and Kilcunda's fine dining, Olives in the grass is a place to relax and enjoy.

Positioned 300 meters from the Wonthaggi-Kilcunda trail, and the new nature reserve behind the dunes, it is ideal to enjoy walks, bike-rides, or ride your horse. (Small treed paddock with water available on request).

The railtrail leads from Wonthaggi via the mouth of Powlett river and Kilcunda to the road to Phillip Island.

Our beautiful house.

Olives in the grass is built according to Fung shui principles, which translates in an amazingly peaceful feeling. The kitchen is modern and has all features needed, including Oven, Microwave, Gas stove, dishwasher etc.

The living room is divided in open plan sections, ideal for reading, dining or enjoying a movie (TV and DVD player)

The master bedroom has a queen bed and en-suite, bedroom 2 has a queen bed, and the third bedroom has 2 bunkbeds, and sleeps 4.

The bathrooms are modern and luxurious.

The house is heated by split system heating, and cooled by the indoor garden with pond, and through the smart design of the house.

The barbecue area is shielded against the coastal breeze.

In the garage you can store your fishing gear, or park the boat safely. (by request)

Or use it for surfboards and wetsuits, use the (childrens-) bikes to ride the trails to beach and river, the paddock for your horse or pony, or the extensive lawn to play.

Or don't.

Just watch the olives grow. Look at the sunsets. Listen to the birds and look at the cows come home from the terrace while you are reading a book.

** please realise this house is in the country. Our spiders are acting like they are on speed sometimes and make webs within a day- they love our house just as much as we do. If you don't like the occasional web or bug, this house is not for you :-) **

The area

Olives in the grass is a place to be, or come home to.

Close by are Wonthaggi , with its shops and coal-mine. (Our kids love to ride the traffic-free trail there and get an ice-cream), endless beaches that are good for surfing waves or wind, or paddle with the kids, or fish, visit the dinosaur fossil site, or just be the only one, even on busy days...

Along the coast there are many beautiful walks - and the bunurong coastal drive offers amazing views.

Inverloch and Wonthaggi have various shops for fun or all your needs, and Phillip Island, which is only 15 minutes away and offers a variety of activities.

Further away (but not too far) is Wilsons promontory, great for walks and nature experience.

There is a variety of restaurants in Dalyston (try the OZON hotel (!)), Inverloch and Wonthaggi, Kilcunda has the hotel and general store where we love to have lunch, Have breakfast in the Hicksborough general store or drive to Phillip island where the coastal towns and wineries offer diverse hospitality.


Olives in the grass is now able to accommodate dogs (not cats) , as long as you are in control, and make sure they don't chew, or chase the cows. on the dairy farm. We have stock fences, which won't hold them in.

You can also bring your Horse or Pony, if you accept a treed and bushy paddock, with water. The paddock is well fenced, but has no electric fencing. Use of the paddock is entirely at your own risk.

More Details

Aukje and Arthur van Vark
Member since: 2011
Speaks english
Response time
Within 12 hours
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
15 July, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Dalyston, Australia

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 4 large double bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • long term rentals available
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

52% Complete
28% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
OLIVES; beach, cycling, horseriding or relaxing
average rating of 4.2380953 based on 21 reviews
Port Melbourne

Had a lovely time here, but house needs a little love...

  • 3 of 5

Just recently have a great mini break here, and would highly recommend this property to others. Couples, Families and everything in between. Whilst the house is satisfactory, it could do with some love. Simple things from batteries in remotes, to lights working, and facilities maintained. With a little bit of love and attention it would be a 5 STAR property.

  • Review Submitted: 14/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Excellent Location

  • 3 of 5

It's an excellent location with plenty of room for kids to run around and steps away from the cycling trails. We were happy about the space and the amneties except the property could have maintained well better. Could improve the cleanliness and upgrade the furniture will definitely add value. Outside lights were not working at all but wasn't a problem for us as we used to watch the stars.

  • Review Submitted: 03/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Yarra Junction, Victoria, Australia

Peace, comfort and convenience

  • 4 of 5

Wonderful location, peaceful surrounds yet so close to magnificent beaches. Will definitely be back.

  • Review Submitted: 18/09/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Excellent place to stay

  • 5 of 5

Great house to stay. Lots of room, great beds, quiet place and nice view. 2nd time we stayed there and will be back!

  • Review Submitted: 13/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Nice views but poorly maintained

  • 1 of 5

We were expecting a nice place to stay but were extremely disappointed that the place was dirty and not well maintained. The house was full of spiders webs and dead moths. When we paid extra for bed linen, we did not expect it to come straight out of the washing machine without being pressed and with hairs and lint all over it. The kitchen sink and shower were dirty with hairs clogging the shower outlet and on the kitchen surfaces. Hence we opted not to have a shower and decided not to stay as planned for two nights and vacated after one night.

We are surprised that it had been rated four stars and would not recommend it.

  • Review Submitted: 17/12/2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I am so sorry that your stay was dissapointing. But, as we talked about in our many conversations, you were already dissapointed before arriving, because of a few things that were clearly mentioned in the advertisement. This was also the reason that my cleaner had to make up your bed at the very last moment, possibly a bit more hurried then normal because I offered you an early check in after you were surprised about the check in time. When you contacted me about your concerns about the cleanliness of the place, I instantly contacted my cleaner, but you left before she could do anything about the issues you mentioned. As we are an eco-friendly house we do not normally spray our house with poison, but after your recommendation, we have now done so. Spiders and moths should not bother anyone now :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wonthaggi, Victoria, Australia

Great property

  • 3 of 5

Very relaxing and it was a shame the spa wasn't working. Would stay again

  • Review Submitted: 06/11/2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Wes, thank you for your review! The spa has not been rented out the last 2 years, I know it is a real shame, but we had to take it off the listing quite a while back. I hope you had a great weekend!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Other Activities:

Beaches, nature


Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

Other Holiday Properties