Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Charming 1 BR Chalet, ONLY 2 Blocks to Square - Whole House - On-Site Parking**

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 70 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Chalet, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

ABOUT OUR CHALETS…..

Location, location, location. We offer 2 Chalets, our 1-bedroom "front" Chalet (featured here -- read more ABOUT THIS CHALET below) and our 2-bedroom "back" Chalet, VRBO 367805. Our Chalets are located an easy 2 blocks west of Courthouse Square in historic Prescott (pronounced “Pres-kitt”) – at one time the pre-state capital of the Arizona Territory. Festivals abound just about every weekend during mild weather seasons, often held right at Courthouse Square -- jazz, blues, arts -- you name it! In addition, Prescott features interesting museums, casinos, our nation's oldest rodeo in July, antique shopping, upscale shopping, outdoor year-round Farmer’s Markets, and 450 miles of hiking and biking with 5 lakes in the area.

It's a pleasant and quick walk from our Chalets to great restaurants, entertainment, and every variety of shopping. Our incredible location -- just two blocks from Prescott's historic Courthouse Square and the center of many of Prescott’s activities and festivals – is, without a doubt, one of the BEST. There’s rarely a need to drive once you get here – just park and leave your vehicle** in our private, off-street lot** – and this is a huge PLUS during any downtown/Courthouse Square event when parking is at a premium. (** One small-regular sized car/van/truck -- sorry, no oversized vehicles, extended bed trucks or RVs. Street parking is available.)

Our Chalet grounds feature lovely and simple Arizona landscaping, on-site parking**, privacy fencing rimmed by soothing shade trees, a vine-covered pergola walkway, and in mild weather.... a little herb garden for use by our guests who love to cook! During the summer, you can hear the cicadas sing. Close to downtown, yet it feels private and secluded – and so-o-o-o-o-o relaxing! (** One small-regular sized car/van/truck -- sorry, no oversized vehicles, extended bed trucks or RVs. Street parking is available.)

Did you know Prescott is known as Arizona’s “Christmas City?” That’s because Courthouse Square is beautifully lit for the holidays (about early December – mid-January: confirm exact dates with Prescott’s Chamber of Commerce https://prescott.org/). There’s also a crazy western “Boot Drop” and mini street festival (Prescott’s answer to New York’s Times Square festivities) on New Year’s Eve at Courthouse Square. You can actually see Prescott’s New Year’s fireworks from our Chalets.

There is always something happening in Prescott, Arizona – everyone’s home town! Find it all at http://www.cityofprescott.net/events. Love live music? -- go to http://prescottads.com/KudosCalendar/. Want to know the weather in Prescott? -- check out http://www.usclimatedata.com/climate/prescott/arizona/united-states/usaz0178. Contact the Chamber of Commerce https://prescott.org.

OR…. mix it up a little bit and take a fun day trip to Jerome, Sedona, Flagstaff, Grand Canyon, or Phoenix/Scottsdale!

ABOUT THIS CHALET.....

VRBO #370657, our 1-bedroom "front" Chalet was built in 2002, is 756 square feet, and has been continually updated and beautifully maintained.

The front Chalet's ground floor includes a living room with a sofa sleeper, comfortable chairs, large flat screen TV with cable service, stereo, CD/DVD, and wireless high speed internet. The eat-in kitchen is fully equipped with a raised dining table, full size refrigerator, gas range, dishes, utensils, and pots/pans. There is a large pantry and washer and dryer. The bathroom with shower is also located on the ground floor. The charming LOFT BEDROOM has a queen bed and ceiling fan. The front deck has a glider swing and two chairs overlooking the Arts District. A patio table, chairs and gas grill (grill is shared with occupants of our "back" Chalet) are available under our lovely, vine-covered pergola walkway which spans our two Chalets. The front Chalet also shares on-site parking** with any occupants of our back, 2-bedroom Chalet, VRBO #367805. (** One small-regular sized car/van/truck -- sorry, no oversized vehicles, extended bed trucks or RVs. Street parking is available.)

Generally, only one small dog, may be accepted on a case by case, PRIOR approval, basis for an additional "Pet Fee" + tax which is paid at the time of reservation. The dog and its management must comply with our written "Pet Policy" -- acceptable dog size/demeanor (often no greater than 30 lbs.), non-shedding and toe-nails trimmed, vaccinations current, crated whenever guests leave the chalet, crated not more than two hours at a time, on-leash when on the premises, not allowed on furniture/beds, no elimination on the premises, etc. If a pet is approved by management, the Pet Fee/tax will be assessed at the time of booking. Please remember to check the “Pet Fee” box during your Inquiry (if you forget to check the box and the booking/pet is confirmed, the Pet Fee will be collected after booking).

Please note this is strictly a NON-SMOKING house, porch, AND outdoor premises.

ALL reservations are subject to management approval. We accept all major credit cards. For all bookings transacted prior to August 1, 2017, we will collect a $250 check or cash security deposit AT CHECK-IN to secure for damage/extraordinary cleaning; this deposit will be promptly returned at or within 14 days of check-out, unless damage is detected or extraordinary cleaning is deemed required. From August 1, 2017 forward, a security deposit will be collected as part of the HomeAway online booking payments and will be in an amount and managed as described on this HomeAway listing.

Also, please note our property has a strictly outside, non-audio, camera system focused only on access points, public view areas, and our equipment shed which is located behind our "back" Chalet.

For more information concerning either of our Chalets, call Pearl at (928) 202-9196 or email her on HomeAway/VRBO.

If you require larger accommodations, please check out our 2-bedroom Chalet (VRBO #367805).

We know you will have a wonderful time at our 1-bedroom Chalet! Book today!

More Details

Property Manager
Pearl Carpenter
Member since: 2011
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 November, 2017

About Pearl Carpenter

We fell in love with Prescott for its warm and friendly people, wonderful and mild four-season climate, and the endless entertainment and activities available here. Prescott is, without a doubt, “America's favorite home town!”

Why Pearl Carpenter chose Prescott

This mile-high community provides four distinct seasons and generally mild temperatures. There are endless activities sponsored by an active and friendly community. Our Chalets are within a short walking distance to much of this beautiful historic town. Our incredible location -- just two blocks from Prescott's historic Courthouse Square and the center of many of Prescott’s activities and festivals – is, without a doubt, one of the BEST. There’s rarely a need to drive once you get here – just park and leave your car in our private, off-street lot** – and this is a huge PLUS during any downtown/Courthouse Square event when parking is at a premium. (** One small-regular sized car/van/truck -- sorry, no oversized vehicles, extended bed trucks or RVs. Street parking is available.)

And Prescott’s proximity to other classic southwestern towns – Phoenix, Scottsdale, Flagstaff, Sedona, and Jerome – just can’t be beat!

What makes this house unique

We enjoy a leisurely walk around nearby Courthouse Square just about any time, but especially when it’s beautifully lit up for the Christmas season or hosting a special event. Visiting local shops offering everything from antiques, western attire and furnishings, and high fashion to kitschy tourist memorabilia; attending the many weekend outdoor events (often held at Courthouse Square); shopping at the outdoor Farmer’s Markets held year-round; reading a book while sitting on the porch; or just simply enjoying the beautiful night skies and the cicadas’ melodies on a warm summer evening…. there’s so much to LOVE about Prescott and our Chalets’ great location. And when we don’t feel like cooking, we simply walk into town to enjoy a meal at one of our many “favorite” restaurants – most of them just minutes away by foot.

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had such a wonderful stay this past month. The one bedroom chalet was so comfortably outfitted and convenient to so many fun things in Prescott. Thank you for a lovely accommodation and all the thoughtful touches Pearl created everywhere.
May 2013
  • 1 of 6

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Prescott

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 70 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • City Centre ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • soap
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • local restaurant guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • We also provide nice quality shampoo, hair conditioner, body wash, hand soap.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sofa sleeper in Great Room
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • video player
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • patio
  • wooden decking
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(78 traveller reviews)

93% Complete
5% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Charming 1 BR Chalet, ONLY 2 Blocks to Square - Whole House - On-Site Parking**
average rating of 4.923077 based on 84 reviews
Farmington, NM
5

Beautiful, clean cottage in the heart of the town.

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was within walking distance to all the town square activities and restaurants. The house was comfortable and well kept, and Pearl is very accommodating. I highly recommend this property.

  • Review Submitted: 24/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great recommendation -- we appreciate it. Hope to see you back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Felt like home!

  • 5 of 5

Loved our stay at the one bedroom Chalet and would stay again. The Chalet was very clean and well stocked with everything you would need. Great location with an easy walk to Whiskey Row. Pearl, the property manager was very helpful. Thanks for a great vacation!

Jim and Marcy from Wisconsin

  • Review Submitted: 04/11/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Marcy and Jim: We enjoyed meeting both of you. As you know, there is a special "Wisconsin Cheesehead" connection to our Prescott Chalet. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we certainly hope to welcome you back again in the future. (Go Pack!!!)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice Stay/Terrible Security Refund Procedure

  • 3 of 5

While we found the property to be clean and well-appointed, ideally-located to everything in and around the Prescott square, and very comfortable, we have been totally put off by the two week delay in initiating our security deposit refund. The owner made sure she was present when we departed, and it would have been evident within 5 minutes that the property was as we found it. Nonetheless, we waited two weeks before we were notified that our security had been refunded( and depending on processing time could be another 2-3 days). Someone, either the owner or HomeAway/VRBO had totally unnecessary use of our security deposit($250.00) for 14 days. I cannot imagine a rationale for that "policy/procedure". We have availed ourselves of VRBO vacation homes numerous times over the years, but I can assure you not in the future. I find this business practice to be morally reprehensible

  • Review Submitted: 31/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We changed (as of August 1, 2017) from a manual paper check to an automated Damage Deposit system in which the deposit is now held by HomeAway, not the Property Owner/Property Manager. Because we wanted to become comfortable with this new system, we initially set our auto refund to 14 days after stay. Based on our experience with this new system and on other owners’/professional property managers’ advice, we just switched to auto refund 7 days after stay, which still allows us adequate time to thoroughly inspect and clean the property. The Damage Deposit process was clearly stated on our HomeAway listing when you booked – and so we are sorry you did not see it and now are so upset by it. Regarding your comment on “moral reprehensibility” – we simply suggest to others who might read these conversations that the vast majority of our reviews for this property portray the graciousness and goodwill of our dedicated Property Manager, both of which are clearly incompatible with your sentiment.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great find in Prescott

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely chalet within easy walking distance to many restaurants, pubs, and Whiskey Row. Pearl was most helpful and friendly in getting settled, and made clear she was available at any time if we needed anything at all. House was cute, and well-equipped for vacationing, with all essentials provided (dishes, basic spices, coffee maker, filters, clothes washer and dryer, etc.) Cute little porch both in the front and the back. I'd definitely return again and highly recommend this find.

  • Review Submitted: 15/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always appreciate it when our guests notice and comment on our "special touches." Thanks for choosing our Chalet and your lovely recommendation. Hope to see you back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chandler, AZ
5

Wonderful Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I wanted to get out of the heat and play some golf, enjoy the downtown activities and found the place we rented more than accommodating!! It was clean, so nicely furnished, relaxing, and comfortable. We didn't want to leave. The little cottage had everything we could have possibly needed and Pearl was so welcoming and helpful. It was just a lovely trip and thank you, Pearl, for furnishing us with a most enjoyable place to hang our hat for a few days.

  • Review Submitted: 10/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed our cozy and comfortable Chalet! We know you hated to leave, but we certainly hope you can come back again soon! Take care.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

PERFECT!

  • 5 of 5

The location is so conveniently close to all the action in Prescott. We visit here from Phoenix in the summer to escape the desert heat and it is always enjoyable. Very clean and nicely decorated. Pearl, the manager, makes it quick and easy to check in and out and is friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Review Submitted: 06/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: PERFECT! Not sure there's much we can add except: Thank You and hope to see you back again!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Located just 2 blocks from the city center -- the beautiful Courthouse Square, plus the famous "Whiskey Row," great restaurants, entertainment venues, and all the other great happenings in historic downtown Prescott. The city presents free activities in Courthouse Square many days and nights, especially during the warmer months. Prescott is close to Jerome, Sedona, Flagstaff, and the Grand Canyon. Phoenix/Scottsdale are only 100 miles to the south. Flying in??? -- you don’t need to rent a car unless you want to take day trips out Prescott since the "Arizona Shuttle" service makes numerous trips to/from Prescott and the Phoenix airport every day -- just ask to be dropped off at the St. Michael Hotel/Bistro drop off point and you can easily walk to our Chalets in about 5 minutes or less.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Prescott

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
AU$132
From
AU$165
Fri,Sat,Sun
AU$860
AU$3,177
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add AU$13 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee AU$132.38 + Tax
cleaning per stay AU$119.14 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit AU$330.95
Tax Rate 11.35%

Rates are subject to change until a reservation is confirmed and all reservations are subject to management approval.

If a pet is approved by management, a “Pet Fee” + tax will be assessed at the time of booking. Please remember to check the “Pet Fee” box during your Inquiry (if you forget to check the box and your booking/pet is confirmed, the Pet Fee/tax will be collected after booking).

Also, please note our property has a strictly outside, non-audio, camera system focused only on access points, public view areas, and our equipment shed which is located behind our "back" Chalet.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable