Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Brighton Beach Shack

Bedrooms 3
Property type house


About the property

Brighton/Sandgate is a grand historical Brisbane seaside suburb conveniently located just 15 minutes drive from Brisbane airport and 10 minutes from Boondall Entertainment Centre.

Our 3 bedroom quaint seaside cottage is a self contained duplex is overlooking Moreton Bay and surrounded by lovely gardens that offers a relaxing getaway for both short term to longer stays as required. A comfy queen bed with french doors that open onto the deck and overlook the bay is in the main bedroom. Bunk beds are in the second bedroom (consisting of a double and single) and the third bedroom 'the blue room' makes for a lovely reading room with single day bed. The homely living area comprises of lounge, dining and kitchen overlooking the bay.


Guests have private entry and exit into the home and there is ample street parking.

Whilst the property is its own home, we share a common wall. We lead busy lives raising our two children however we also are at home most evenings and on weekends. Our children are well behaved however from time to time will create some noise. If you are wanting absolute solitude and will be bothered by noise - this is perhaps not the most ideal choice. In saying that, we are most hospitable and love entertaining and look forward to welcoming you.


Kitesurfing is what brings the crowds when the wind is up and we are located opposite one of the most popular beaches for this activity. If it's a balmy day then Stand up Paddling (SUP) or kayaking in the bay might be more your thing.

The Queensland Cruising Yacht Club (QCYC) is located on Cabbage Tree Creek, Shorncliffe. QCYC has always been a popular destination for cruising and racing yachtsmen. The Clubhouse is set in a parkland like environment with views across Cabbage Tree Creek to Brisbane’s largest wetland environment reserve, the Boondall Wetlands and out to Moreton Bay. A short walk to the mouth of Cabbage Tree Creek, will afford spectacular views across beautiful Moreton Bay to Moreton Island.

Boondall Wetlands and Environmental Centre is where you can enjoy a spot of bird watching and a great place to ride to from The Beach Shack.

Along Flinders Pde foreshore we have 8 kilometres of walking and cycling pathway, where you can discover a variety of cafes, kids parks local swimming pool and end up at the historical Shorncliffe Pier which was built in 1872.

Wood fired pizza, Thai, Indian, IGA, baker, butcher and bottle shop are all a convenient 2 minute stroll away.


We are just a few minutes walk from the bus stop and a short drive to Sandgate train station where trains leave to the Brisbane Central frequently. Brisbane City is just 25 minutes on the train.

Australia Zoo and Underwater World are under an hours drive - heading North towards the Sunshine Coast. South bound - our famous theme parks 'Sea World, Dream World, Movie World and Wet n Wild will see you there in an hour's drive from our place.

Sunshine Coast is a 45 minute drive, and the Gold Coast (depending on where you are going) will be around 1 hour drive.

If you are arriving from the domestic or international airport, you will find all major car hire companies at both airports. The easiest way here is via a car or cab which is a short 15 minute drive away. You may also take the Airport Railway which links in with the Shorncliffe line (Sandgate is where you would hop off, then catch a cab to Brighton).


The home is a non smoking residence, no intoxicants, though responsible drinking is ok, no loud music, or guests aside from those booked into the accommodation. If the kitchen area is used it would have to be left in clean and tidy condition, for long stays guests may use washing machine and dryer for washing their linen. For long stays the cleaning of the rooms, kitchen and bathroom are the responsibility of guests.


Payment for bookings is done through direct bank transfer.

If your booking needs to be cancelled please be aware that we will only refund up to 50% of your payment if the property can be relet for the dates you have booked, if the property can not be relet on these dates no refund will be issued.

A $200.00 bond is taken for each booking, this bond is to cover any damage or excess cleaning. The bond will be deposited back into your account on completion of your stay.

More Details

Tara Cross
Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
27 May, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Brisbane, Australia

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 3 large double bed
  • DVD Player
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

61% Complete
23% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Brighton Beach Shack
average rating of 4.3076925 based on 13 reviews
Victoria, Australia

Property its self was ok.

  • 1 of 5

This is not acceptable place for Industrial Workers. Felt very uncomfortable with children running up and down veranda with men having a drink and being loud. I have children myself and felt this is not a place to have a group men around the children whom the owners do not know. Very disappointed in owner.

  • Review Submitted: 25/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Julie who wrote this did not stay in the property. She wrote on behalf of her workers - and it makes me wonder what they wanted to do at our property, that they were so against us being there?? As the copy clearly states that we live on the property and at times they will hear kids noises. The guests arrived and we promptly left as we had a dinner engagement. Our almost teenage children were not running up and down verandah…they don’t do this. This is a disgruntled office worker, who was trying to get her entire two weeks money refunded, based on the fact that they didn’t read the copy. This is our business, and Stayz advised us that we were in the ‘right’, and they were in the ‘wrong’. As a ‘Superhost’, we have over 100 fantastic reviews on both Stayz and Ab&b site and we welcome you to check these out.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quiet, Clean & Convenient

  • 4 of 5

We loved our stay at your home, thanks, Tara. It was lovely to walk in to find fresh fruit and bread on the bench as well as milk and juice in the fridge. Loved being able to relax on the front verandah and watch the kite surfers over the road. There is a welcoming, homely feel to your place that is instantly relaxing. . .just right for our family stopover.

  • Review Submitted: 02/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Victoria, Australia

Lovely place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a wonderful time here. The views were amazing. We spent a lot of time just sitting on the front porch just admiring the views; the seating just lends itself to chillin' and watching the world go by. Kitchen is well equipped and location is very close to shops. I would highly recommend.

  • Review Submitted: 02/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia


  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay on the Gold Coast. easy access to shops, beach and theme parks.

  • Review Submitted: 30/09/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brighton, Queensland, Australia

Great property, fantastic location

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful stay. The property is in a fantastic location, the beach view is amazing and the hosts were a joy to deal with.

  • Review Submitted: 30/12/2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brighton, QLD, Australia


  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed our stay the location is good . owners very helpful.

  • Review Submitted: 09/12/2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Other Activities:

Boondall Entertainment Centre


Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made

Other Holiday Properties