Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Cooee Beach Federation Cottage Burnie

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights


About the property

Wake up to the sound of the waves only 50 short metres away. Located 2 minutes drive from the centre of Burnie, the Cooee Beach Federation Cottage is one of Cooee's oldest residences and was originally the Cooee postmaster's house.

With a traditional bull nose verandah, high Baltic ceilings & bay windows, 3 comfy bedrooms, brand new double glazed windows throughout, lounge, sun soaked kitchen & dining room & private outdoor BBQ area, guests will immediately feel relaxed & at home.

Cooee Beach is simply stunning with its white sand & clear water and with a westerly Table Cape back drop makes a wonderful place to enjoy the sunsets. The beach is also home to a large penguin colony which can be seen at dusk as they return to their burrows.

Cooee also has a variety of bar & dining options within 2 minutes walk - from pizza to the locally acclaimed bowls club bar.

Generous discounts apply to the property for bookings greater than 7 days.

Don't waste your holiday packing & unpacking - stay for a few nights & explore

A great base to explore the best of what the North West Coast has to offer! The Cooee Beach Federation Cottage is ideally situated for a 3 to 5 day stay as you can use it as a base to explore places of interest including Cradle Mountain, the historic fishing village of Stanley, Penguin, Boat Harbour Beach, Table Cape (tick the Tollymore scenic drive off your bucket list) & Sheffield (famed mural town).

The town & surrounds of Burnie also has so much to offer with its whiskey distillery tours, Emu Valley Rhododendron Garden & renowned Makers Workshop, where you can taste our soft cheeses & speak with the resident artists & craftspeople.

Looking for a smaller private getaway for the corporate traveller or romantic?

Cooee Beach Cottages also has 2 lovely smaller fully self contained cottages at the rear called Oystercatcher & Sandpiper that are ideally suited to couples, with good views of Cooee Beach with private decks. Combined with the Albatross this property also suits larger groups wether for corporate or family reunion stays! Both these cottages are also on Stayz.

More Details

Alan Hogge
Member since: 2013
Speaks english
Response time
Within 12 hours
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
24 May, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Cooee, Australia

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 3 large double bed
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • long term rentals available
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing


3.7/5 -
(17 traveller reviews)

17% Complete
47% Complete
23% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
Cooee Beach Federation Cottage Burnie
average rating of 3.7058823 based on 17 reviews
Sunshine Coast

In need of maintenance and a good clean.

  • 3 of 5

The property is what you would expect from a property of its age. The waves 50m away were unable to be heard over the sound of the highway directly out the front of the property and the view to the rear is the other two properties which are really close.

Cleaning is an issue as we found a fair bit of dust around and an empty popcorn packet under one of the wardrobes. There is mound around the shower and the screen allows water to flow onto the floor if the seal isn’t checked every time. The dishes looked like they had only been rinsed and not washed. I know this is a guest responsibility; however, should have been checked and cleaned prior to guests arriving. Also, as per previous reviews, there was only one ply toilet paper. Not a massive issue, but apparently already sorted.

The property needs maintenance as the children’s room has a hole in the vent and there are wires coming out of the wall where the phone line should be.

Good points are the beds are comfortable, the penguins are an amazing experience up the road, as is the makers centre and the distillery. The board games are also a handy thing to have on those rainy days. Bernie is a great location, but maybe not staying on the highway.

Overall a slightly disappointing stay due to cleanliness, the proximity to the road and the other two properties on the site.

  • Review Submitted: 29/11/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback Daniel. Yes the property is over 100 years old & does come with its challenges & the Baltic pine ceilings do mean extra dusting is sometimes needed but they are an original feature. We have addressed most of your issues raised & now have double glazed windows so road noise is minimised. The penguins are great!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Somerville, Victoria, Australia

Not the best stay i Tassie

  • 2 of 5

Not the cleanest we have stayed in.

No personal touches.

Bathroom Linen leaves a lot to be desired

1 ply toilet roll. REALLY!!!

  • Review Submitted: 07/11/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Julie our cleaner is very thorough however we did have a tradesman in installing new kitchen downlights & Wifi cabling a couple of hours before you arrived so apologies as it was I who did the last minute dusting etc just before you arrived. We have also now gone ‘2 ply’ but do stock some of the other in case of emergencies! Thanks Alan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

Spacious and well appointed

  • 5 of 5

Booked this beautiful cottage on the spur of the moment and we weren't disappointed. Well situated close to Burnie, and even though it's on a main road, it's set back far enough that we didn't hear the traffic very much at all. The sound of the ocean was more prominent!

As stated the cottage has everything you need to ensure you'll enjoy your stay.

Would stay here again for sure.

  • Review Submitted: 04/11/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cooee, Tasmania, Australia

Good property.

  • 4 of 5

Nice stay. Very very cold upon entry. However beautiful property enjoyed or stay. Be great if heaters were on prior to arrival as kids were cold. I would however stay again!

  • Review Submitted: 24/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Hannah - we have started putting the heater on for incoming guests thanks for the tip & we look forward to having you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location but dirty and damp

  • 2 of 5

Lovely location and was great to explore the surroundings. The house itself was very poorly cleaned and the main bedroom especially was very damp and uncomfortable. The kitchen draws were full of grime and there was mould in some of the glasses. No apology from the owner when we tried to tell them about the problems.

  • Review Submitted: 16/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kate We have looked at when you booked which was 6 months ago. Unfortunately you advised us of the issue after you had left and our cleaner went in strait away & addressed the issue. 1 teaspoon in the cutlery drawer was found to have been put in there by the previous guests - very frustrating to see this as we take great pride in our properties. Our new cleaners are very thorough and work to a checklist to ensure that issues like this will not occur in the future. Alan & Allison
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Good property in central Burnie

  • 3 of 5

We had a good couple of days in Burnie: less than 90 minutes from Cradle Mt, we saw platypus in the river and baby penguins at arms length. The house has character and is cosy. It is close to the beach, but it is also close to the main road so there is some traffic noise. The kitchen was a bit basic: perhaps a bit over priced, but otherwise convenient and comfortable.

  • Review Submitted: 29/01/2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Other Activities:

Beautiful Cooee Beach


Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made

Other Holiday Properties