Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Balmoral Beachside Getaway

Bedrooms 1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights


About the property


Lovely beach studio unit with water views, , well sized and just 50 metres across from the pristine waters and sand of Balmoral Beach, this is the perfect getaway if you want the best of both worlds- to relax by the on the beach or take the 20 minute bus/ferry ride across the famous harbour to the bright lights and excitement of Sydney city.---

Perfect for a couple or a single – for romance- business or any of the outdoor activities that can be had nearby, the property is well furnished and quiet. There is a private entrance via the balcony and the accommodation includes a queen size bed, 2 seater lounge and 2 chairs, small writing/dining table and an ensuite bathroom that includes a washing machine and dryer.

A fold up single bed is available if required.

An electric barbeque and outdoor setting exclusively for guests’ use is situated on the patio/balcony from which there are park and water views to the harbour and North Head.

It is very pleasant to just relax there and watch the native wildlife, including cockatoos, lorrikeets and kookaburras or people passing by on thier way to the beach.

You might even catch a glimpse of the mother and baby whale that sometimes play in the water near the island. More often though you might see a young dolphin who has been known to allow the local swimmers to play with them in the water.

Beach towels and bath robes are supplied for guests’ use.

Taronga Zoo, possibly the world’s only harbour zoo is within walking distance or a short bus ride. The bus stop is situated just across the park and carries passengers to the ferry that will cross the Harbour to Circular Quay and the Opera House. The trip by bus and ferry to the city only takes 20-25 minutes or 15 minutes by car.

Please note that the property does not have a dedicated kitchen but does have a large bar fridge & freezer, microwave, toaster and toaster oven plus coffee and tea making facilities.

There are 8 very popular cafes and 4 restaurants all with excellent food a short level walk away and most guests take advantage of these . If you don’t feel like going out or cooking there are many cuisine choices for home delivery available.

Just up the hill in cosmopolitan Mosman Village you can browse through the many boutiques, gourmet food shops and galleries, or perhaps try a good $7 steak at the hotel or try another restaurant.


There are plenty of choices for exercise – you can hire a boat, kayak or paddle board or go for a bushwalk along one of the many tracks in the area. On these tracks you can feel as if you are far away from everything not even have a building or sign of civilisation within sight even though they are nearby


If you want a rest from exercise there is a digital HD TV with 30 channels and a DVD player with selection of DVD’s. There are also books to read if that is your fancy.

More Details

Property Manager
Jill Jensen
Member since: 2015
Speaks english
Calendar last updated:
3 April, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday studio rental in Balmoral, Australia

Property Type:
  • studio
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Outdoor Grill
  • forests
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing


Good! 3.9/5 -
(17 traveller reviews)

5% Complete
82% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Balmoral Beachside Getaway
average rating of 3.8823528 based on 17 reviews
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

Beautiful location

  • 4 of 5

This was our second stay at Jill's place in this beautiful part of Sydney and we have thoroughly enjoyed it. The room has a warm, cosy feeling with adequate facilities for a short stay. We felt very comfortable and will return there on our next visit to Sydney. Thanks Jill.

  • Review Submitted: 25/11/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Fantastic location

  • 4 of 5

I loved being here ! The obvious number one feature is the location which just can't be beaten ! I was happy and comfortable in the accomodation, it's not brand new five star but it is exactly as it looks in the pictures spacious and comfortable with a lovely little private deck and private entry and Jill has done her best to provide microwave toaster and toaster oven in lieu of a kitchen though I didn't use any of it as it's 5min walk to coffee and food. I do like black out curtains which it doesn't have but luckily I had me eye mask as I am a light sleeper ! Would happily stay again ! Thank you Jill

  • Review Submitted: 08/02/2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Karen, Thanks for your review! I'm glad you loved being here - most people do! You were a great guest and i hope to see you here.again. I will try to remember to provide an eyemask in future for you.!!! In fact I might get a supply of them for other people should they need them.-- Thanks for the tip!. I like to keep the atmosphere here relaxed & cosy, yet cool and comfortable. The majority of my guests are visiting relatives who live locally and prefer that feel to that of a big Hotel. Hope you had a good trip home and to see you again. Best Wishes from Sunny (Not at the moment though ) Balmoral! JILL
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
London, United Kingdom

Unbeatable location

  • 3 of 5

The location was simply awesome but we felt the photos on the web did not represent the reality that the property is purely a bedroom with a small loo that doubles as a laundry room/shower/kitchen sink

  • Review Submitted: 04/01/2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Anthony, I hope you had a good trip back to the UK. I'm really very sorry that The Getaway was not up to your expectations however I feel your review is misleading to others and I feel I should respond. Your description of it being “purely a bedroom with a small loo” is far from what it is. The main room is large (27 m2) and, in addition to the queen size bed contains a 2 seater lounge, 2 lounge chairs, 2 bedside tables, a small dining table + 3 dining chairs, 2 coffee tables and an entertainment unit. The outdoor balcony (10m2) has another dining setting for 4 + electric BBQ. The “small loo” is actually a normal size toilet in an ensuite bathroom (4.2m2) which has a good size shower, vanity, washing machine and drier for guests’ convenience. You had a lot of visitors during your stay, including several children, and I do appreciate that you would have been better off with a larger place under those circumstances. However to be fair the advertising clearly described it as suitable for a couple or single only . It is also the least expensive in the Balmoral area, and on average is less than half the cost of other properties. Sorry this didn't work out for you. I hope you can find a place that better suits your taste and budget next time you come to Australia. Best Wishes Jill
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Great location only!!

  • 2 of 5

On the positive side, the location is excellent, the off-street parking is highly valued with public transport very close by, and the bed was comfortable. Beyond that, the property doesn't really match the standard suggested by other reviewers. It is very small and most of the fittings are very tired, in line with the property itself. Maintenance is poor (particularly the bathroom/laundry room) and it is clear that no effort has been made to bring it up to what would be considered acceptable by today's standard. We travel quite a lot and this simply does not compare with other places we've enjoyed.

  • Review Submitted: 20/12/2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sandra, Thanks for the positive comments you did make, but I am very disappointed in the rest of your review. I'm also quite puzzled that you returned to stay again not only once but twice after your initial 8 night stay. In all 18 nights!. You would have had plenty of time (more than 4 weeks ) to cancel those next two bookings, and I would have had no trouble reletting it in peak season. As for your other comments regarding maintenance I would really appreciate you telling me what you are referring to. The only thing I can think of is a couple of small rust marks on the inside lid of the washing machine which don't affect anything and we are going to attend to when there is a lull in bookings. If you say the property itself is tired the fact is that it is one of the most up-to -date in the street and had a renovation and rebuild in 2008. As far as the furnishings are concerned it is simply a matter of taste. The Getaway is traditionally furnished deliberately in keeping with the feel of the building and the warm, relaxed & cosy feeling most guests seem to like. If by today's standard you mean ultra modern glass, stone and steel then yes, it is not up to today's standard but most of our guests find it very acceptable and that style should be clear by the photographs on the website. I hope that your new home is now ready and that you are happy in it. Best Wishes Jill Jensen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Queensland, Australia

Great location

  • 4 of 5

The proximity to Balmoral beach is fantastic. The accommodation is comfortable too. The host is friendly & helpful too.

  • Review Submitted: 28/09/2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to do a review David. I hope you had a good trip home and that I;ll see you again sometime in the future at "The Getaway" Best Wishes Jill Jensen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Albert Park, VIC, Australia

Excellent Location

  • 4 of 5

V Good value. Would be even better if had sl. better kitchen facilities.

  • Review Submitted: 25/06/2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Other Activities:

Balmoral Beach


Rates & Availability

Contact Manager

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made

Other Holiday Properties