Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Modern luxury house in the heart of the Golden Circle - Winter and Summer!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms1
Half Baths2
Space 220 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

5 bedroom (incl one guesthouse), 3 bathrooms, sleeps 10.

Grund is a modern luxury house 220 sqm. only 45 minutes drive from Reykjavik with hot tub, steam bath, washer & dryer, Internet wi-fi, TV. Perfect property for anyone who wants to see some of the most beautiful sights of Iceland and relax with all the comfort you can imagine. Small soccerfield w goals if you want to play and several golf courses in close range. Located in the heart of 'the Golden Circle' the famous sight seeing route.

The registration number for Grund is HG-00001169.


Owner
Thorsteinn and Bjargey
Member since: 2012
Speaks english, swedish, danish, Icelandic, Danish, Swedish
Response time
Within a few hours
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
22 April, 2018

About Thorsteinn and Bjargey

We have been involved in tourism for more than 20 years.

Thorsteinn and Bjargey purchased this house in 2008

Why Thorsteinn and Bjargey chose Southern Region

We built this house 2008. Since we now live in London because of work, we wanted travelers to Iceland to have the opportunity to stay. Grund is located in the heart of the popular Golden Circle. Close to Reykjavik, the capital and very short to get service at Selfoss and Hveragerdi. A lot of things to see and do in the neighborhood but also an excellent place to do just nothing but relax and enjoy the nature.

What makes this house unique

The size and quality of Grund and the location makes it unique.

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Southern Region

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 220 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • City Centre ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm System
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Secure Parking
  • Security System
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 mini spa - toilet , shower enclosure , double shower / mini spa
    Bathroom 2 2nd floor - toilet
    Outdoor shower - outdoor shower , outdoor shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , guesthouse
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 large double bed , Guest house
    Bedroom 2 - 2 single bed , 1 sofa bed/futon , TV room
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • wooden decking
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • volcano
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(35 traveller reviews)

82% Complete
8% Complete
2% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Modern luxury house in the heart of the Golden Circle - Winter and Summer!
average rating of 4.6857142 based on 35 reviews
5

Awesome house, great location, way better than a hotel!

  • 5 of 5

House had everything we needed. Used 4 bedrooms for 6 people. Had a couple of minor issues that we relayed to the owner, but nothing that would stop us from staying here again! The location is fantastic, quiet with low traffic, yet close enough to the nearest town to do all the shopping. Given the expenses associated with an Iceland vacation, this house was by far the best bargain we got. You won’t regret staying here!

  • Review Submitted: 04/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing experience!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Grund for 5 nights and it was such a lovely experience. It was 11 adults and a child and there is plenty of room for everyone. At first I was a little bit worried because there is only one shower (double shower) in the house but it worked out just fine. The location of the property is just what you want if you want the full Iceland experience and it’s close to many places to see in Iceland. We saw so many different places in only the short amount of time thanks to our perfect location. The house itself was like a real home and it felt just right to come home to a warm fire and some dinner in the spacious kitchen after a long day experiencing the beautiful Icelandic landscapes.

  • Review Submitted: 05/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Cluster of a rental. Owner was unprepared.

  • 2 of 5

Owner was unprepared for our arrival. Check in instructions were vague took over an hour to get into house, in the blowing snow. Hot tub doesn't work, after we dug out several feet of snow. Did not have sufficient sheets, towels for us. Didn't give us a snow shovel, or ice melt but said it was in the garage, that we didn't have a key to, but also was buried in snow. Wifi cut in and out several times a day. Did not have the second gas tank filled. Would not recommend this house.

  • Review Submitted: 23/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location with amazing views!

  • 5 of 5

This home was just as pictured. It had plenty of space for our group of 7 to spend time together, but also to spread out and have some quiet time. The location was beautiful, with gorgeous views out of every window. It was also convenient to many attractions we wanted to visit. Owners were willing to meet us at the property to show us how everything worked, but we declined. Hint: Meet the owners if you are unfamiliar with the language!!! We struggled quite a bit with kitchen appliances, laundry machines, and hot tub. Having said that, owners were very responsive to our inquiries while we were there and were very sweet! We loved the house and the vacation was a once in a lifetime adventure! Thank you for letting us stay in your home!

  • Review Submitted: 02/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great location, great layout

  • 4 of 5

The location was great if you don't want to stay in the city. Many different attractions within an hour or two. Hot tub was a small and had quite a bit of leaves in it to start due to the cover not being complete but we made it work and ended up being not much of an issue. There is only one shower so that is a work around but not terrible since there are two shower heads. Got to see the northern lights the first 3 nights so it was great for that. The main negative was finding the house initially, directions were a little lacking since we weren't 100% familiar with road signs. I was having trouble opening documents emailed to me so it may have been on my end. Overall my entire party loved the place and if we ever go back it would definitely be a place i would highly consider.

  • Review Submitted: 19/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Kevin, Thank you for your reply. It's so valuable to get the feedback and there is always something to learn from. I'm sorry about the leaves in hot tub. As you were aware of the wind was blowing the must have made their way there after we cleaned the tub before you arrived. We will definitely look into the cover and have that fixed. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back any time. Best regards, Thorsteinn
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great house in Iceland for large group!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing stay in Iceland and this house was perfect for our group of 10! The house is well appointed with a great kitchen, wide open common areas, a really great deck outside and we were very comfortable with plenty of towels, linens, and kitchen utensils. The heated floors would be wonderful during the colder months! I would recommend this house!

  • Review Submitted: 09/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
95 Kilometres
Keflavik airport
Nearest Ferry
60 Kilometres
Ferry to Vestman Islands
Nearest Golf
7 Kilometres
Öndverdanes golf club
Nearest Restaurant
7 Kilometres
Thrastarlundur
Car: necessary

The house is located only 50 minutes drive from Reykjavik in a quiet area close to lake Thingvallavatn, a part of the golden circle (one of the must see places in Iceland). Its closest village Selfoss is appox 15 min driving with all services needed. Excellent hiking all around and only 20 min drive from lake Laugarvatn. Geysir and Gullfoss two of most visited sights are not far. Two good 18 hole golf courses 7 km (Öndverdarnes) and 13 km (Kidjaberg) away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Southern Region

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Nightly Rate
1 Mar 2018 - 31 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$645
From
AU$645
Fri,Sat,Sun
AU$2,477
AU$8,996
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add AU$7 per night, per additional guest
 
Nightly Rate
1 Jun 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$639
From
AU$639
Fri,Sat,Sun
AU$4,172
AU$8,996
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add AU$7 per night, per additional guest
 
Nightly Rate
1 Jul 2018 - 31 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$717
From
AU$652
Fri,Sat,Sun
AU$4,368
AU$10,300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add AU$7 per night, per additional guest
 
Nightly Rate
1 Aug 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$665
From
AU$626
Fri,Sat,Sun
AU$4,172
AU$8,996
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add AU$7 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
AU$580
From
AU$559
Fri,Sat,Sun
AU$2,477
AU$8,996
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add AU$7 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 14.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable