check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

marcia sleepafloat

Member since: 2005
Call Manager
Speaks english

Houseboat MV Coconuts: Once in a Lifetime Vacation

10 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


Photos and Description of this Key West Harbour Yacht Club holiday house

Bedrooms 3, Bathrooms 2, Sleeps 8

The M/V Coconuts is a completely unique home with 360 degree water views, it also happens to be a 50-foot trawler, permanently docked at the Key West Harbor Marina. This is more than a boat. It really is a very comfortable home, with proper living area, bedrooms and large sundecks.

There is over 1100 sq ft of indoor living space and another 500 sq ft of balcony and sundeck.THE LIVING AREA...Walk into the Florida-modern living room with a sleeper sofa encircled by large windows and facing the flat screen TV with expanded Dish service.

The open kitchen has a home-sized oven/range and double door refrigerator/freezer. Go up the three canteloupe-colored steps to the office with its glass-topped desk, if you must work. The end of this main deck and the aft deck provides views of the world-class yachts underway within the marina and the Atlantic beyond. You could spend all afternoon out here, day after day or choose instead a different deck every day, sharing the relaxing sunshine with a delicate blue heron or a curious pelicans, and even an occasional manatee.

THE KEY WEST HARBOR MARINA...Guests on board the M/V Coconuts enjoy full membership privileges at the Key West Harbour Marina including dining at the gourmet restaurant and lounging below, at the marina's big harbor front infinity pool. Steps from the pool area and an outdoor bar is the quiet beach with chaises, a Tiki bar out on the point, and a fully equipped gym that includes a sauna. Sunday nights there is even a potluck happy hour party organized by boat owners at the marina and all of our guests are welcome to join in the fun!

For those looking to spend time out on the open waters there is a sailing company that operates daily charters right from the marina. These are fully customizable charters that may include activities such as snorkeling, diving, fishing, kayaking and paddle boarding. If interested, please inquire about special SleepAfloat guest pricing.

THE ACCOMMODATIONS...The master bedroom has a queen bed with a 180-degree view through big windows, with command of the marina and the ocean. The en-suite bathroom/wardrobe has a full-sized vanity and shower. The spacious second bedroom has two twins beds that also can act as a king. The en-suite bathroom also has a full-sized shower. In the pilot house, you'll find a twin bunk bed, perfect for extra guests. Walking through the pilot house's doors that you'll choose to leave wide open to enjoy the ambiance, there are wraparound passageways perfect for enjoying a pina colada and exterior stairs. Walk topsides to a 360 degree deck, then down to the boardwalk to the Tiki Bar.

*Rates are posted for 2 guests. Each additional guest $35/night per person. $211 cleaning fee, $39 insurance fee and are only quoted for 2 guests. **Holiday rates are higher and there is a 3 night minimum for holiday dates including Fantasy Fest Week.

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
marcia sleepafloat (Property Manager)
Call Manager
Speaks english

Guestbook comments from the manager

My daughter opted out of her high school senior week beach trip and requested a unique family and friend experience. Wow, did the M/V Coconuts Provide!!! We had 5 kids, 2x19, 1x18, 1x16, and 1x12 years old, plus Mom and Dad. The charm and the funky vibe of the boat wowed the entire crew. We own a tiny lake house in NY and I appreciated the thought that went into the compact storage and availability of all needs for preparing supper for 7. Ray was responsive and helpful, and Key West was a wonderful way to begin our vacation. Great A/C for July and the most comfortable bed in the master suite! The pullout worked great for our 12 year old (who cuddled with Dad when I woke early to sit on the deck off the kitchen). Thank you for the gorgeous thunderstorm to lull us to sleep, and the feeling of being a guest in a friend's home. I love that my teenagers and tweener missed it when we took our next leg of our trip to South Beach, Miami. I know I did! M/V Coconuts rules!
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 2


based on 10 traveller reviews

Houseboat MV Coconuts: Once in a Lifetime Vacation
average rating of 4.4 based on 12 reviews


  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time on MV Coconuts! I would highly recommend it to anyone and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Review Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very unique experience!

  • 4 of 5

I stayed on this boat with 3 of my friends. It was amazing. Very quiet, private. Plenty of room. Ray was very helpful.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Best Choice Rental!

  • 5 of 5

From the moment I stepped on board I knew I had made the correct choice. Far better then any hotel can offer. Either of their boats are clean and a joy to return to for quiet time on one of the decks. Rooms are all separate and comfortable. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic! We'll be back!

  • 5 of 5

Our group had such an enjoyable stay on Coconuts! What a unique rental!

When we arrived at the boat and were greeted by the keeper Ray. He was super friendly and gave us some tips on where to go in town. He even invited us to the restaurant he works at but we weren't able to make it there.

The boat itself was very clean and spacious. We were 7 adults and although one had to sleep on the twin bunk bed he said he had no complaints about it (maybe because he's only 5 ft 8).

I got the master bedroom which had an awesome view of the marina. One thing that was a little bit of a miss was that one of the bathrooms is in the master bedroom so you have to go into the room to get to it. There is another bathroom on the main floor though with a full shower as well.

We didn't have time to check out the marina facilities but we did walk over to the pool and it looked like a nice area to lounge around.

This was a quick trip to the Keys for us but next time we are definitely coming back to stay on Coconuts and we'll make sure we leave some time for lounging!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 20, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 2 of 5

The idea is great and the location is awesome. The boat was very dirty including dishes in cabinets. Spent 6 hrs of our vacation cleaning and washing the bedding at laundry mat. The boat was advertise with washer and dryer but did not have one. sewage backed up do to tank being full and maintance man tried blaming us! Unit comes with stove but every time you turned it on the breaker would trip.We stay in rentals like this at least 5 times a year but this one was a big disappointment!I would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 29, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very surprised to receive this review as this boat normally gets five star reviews. I really wish you had contacted our office during your stay and we would've had all these issues handled right away. We have recently hired a new cleaner for the boat and will be speaking to them about the condition which you found the boat in. We pride ourselves on providing guests with clean, comfortable conditions and that is what you should have found upon arrival. We apologize if that was not the case and will be working hard to ensure all future rentals meet the SleepAfloat standard. I will also be speaking with our maintenance team with regards to how they handled speaking with you when the toilet broke. We were told that the chain had broke when someone flushed the toilet which caused issues with the system. It is nothing anyone did wrong just an unfortunate incident and a piece broke during normal use. I'm sorry if they made you feel like you did something wrong to cause this. Again we apologize if your stay with us was anything but spectacular. We pride ourselves on offering guests a unique and memorable vacation rental experience and are very sorry that that was not the case for you. Best, Team SleepAfloat
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

A Fabulous Stay on the M/V Coconuts

  • 5 of 5

My family and I, all seniors, wanted to spend 3 days in Key West, but not in a sterile hotel setting. By George we found it. From the moment we rented the M/V Coconuts till the moment we reluctantly turned back the keys, the stay was amazing. While not in the city, the Marina is just a short distance away, 15 minutes by car, The marina is beautifully kept: quiet and clean. The Coconuts is a gem of a ship. We each had our own sleeping space. One couple had a master bedroom with wrap around windows. One of us took the second bedroom, the other the lower bunk in the 3rd bedroom and I took the sleeper couch in the living room. All beds were comfortable and bedding and towels were aplenty. There is nothing better than watching the sun rise over the water from your bedroom window. or watching the sunset from the top deck with a glass of wine in hand. Our first morning breakfast was had on the outside lower deck under the canopy, overlooking the water. The kitchen is fully equipped with ceramic stove, full compleat of spices, tableware and cookware. The eat in kitchen sits 4 at the counter. The bathrooms have standard toilets and full showers.

Our contact, Ray Williams was amazing. He made us feel so special, even inviting us to his restaurant, New York Pasta Garden where he is chief chef. Was the weekend amazing? It was incredible! Thank you M/V Coconuts.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 2, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Other Activities:

Florida Keys Eco-Discovery Center

Our boat is docked in Oceanside Marina on Stock Island, approximately 5 miles from downtown Key West. It's a calm and quiet marina making for a perfect getaway in paradise.


Rates & Availability


  • From $225 to $425 a night
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Key West Harbour Yacht Club, Florida

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 0 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf

Other Holiday Properties