check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag


Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks english

Quiet Comtemporary House One Block from Ocean.

63 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Photos and Description of this Pacific Grove holiday house

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Located 75 steps from the ocean, this updated property is located in one of the few original neighborhoods of Pacific Grove. The coastal bike trail is just 2 min away. Walk to Downtown and to the beach. 0.5 miles to the aquarium and Cannery Row. Ocean views from kitchen and living room.

Bikes are provided for your personal use. Helmsets provided. (bikes are adult sized)

Keywords: house

  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
hayley (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks english

Guestbook comments from the manager

"Thank you Hayley and Fabrice for a wonderful and very memorable trip to the California coast. Our entire family enjoyed your home in its entirety! The bikes were just fabulous - we biked everwhere and never used our car. Your home's character is just perfect and thank you for keeping it so clean and updated. We will definitley return and hope you will have us back"
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 2


based on 63 traveller reviews

Quiet Comtemporary House One Block from Ocean.
average rating of 4.698413 based on 65 reviews

Cute beach house!

  • 5 of 5

My daughter and her 5 bridesmaids stayed at the mermaid rental for three nights prior to her wedding. I booked the reservation, and the owner, Hayley, was very easy to communicate with and very accommodating. The rental was cozy and comfortable, but spacious enough for this group of 6. The location was perfect for walks along the ocean, as well as into town for supplies or restaurants, and the bikes were an added bonus. They had a fun and memorable time. The kitchen area and adjacent large table made a perfect area to have a small gathering for arranging the flowers for the wedding. Would definitely recommend!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Unique Home. We loved it!

  • 5 of 5

My family of 6 were very comfortable for our multiple night stay in the Mermaid Vacation Home. The home is located on a unique street that has a row of homes in front and then the coastline. It was a very short walk to get to the beaches or benches to sight see the ocean, boats, wild life etc. The home was very clean and well stocked. We so appreciated the washer and dryer and enjoyed being able to watch TV in separate rooms. The loft is not accessible, we didn't need it anyways so that was fine for us. The downstairs bedroom is a bit colder than the rest of the home, but there is a space heater that did just fine. Bikes were great touch. There are minor little things that could be improved, maybe an update on the bathroom upstairs, new blinds perhaps... but overall - for the price and the location - I really think you cannot beat this place. So reasonable for the area and I feel if we had any issues with the house (we didn't) that the owner Hayley would have addressed them. She was very responsive during the booking process and easy to work with. If you like vacation homes, this is one of the better ones i have stayed in. I would stay again and hope you enjoy the house!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks you for your email, I posted your review to our page. It was so nice to have you at the home and I hope your journey continues safely!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location but needs updates

  • 2 of 5

We really enjoyed the location with close proximity to many sites, including the views of the ocean. But, the house definitely needs some updates and repairs. I had hoped that these had taken place before our arrival after reading the previous reviews, but they had not. We never could get the washer to work despite numerous tries and following the crazy directions in the house manual. The door in the master leading to garage still hasn't been sealed or insulated, so there is a breeze of air blowing through. The electrical outlets are really in need of repair. Every time I dried my hair, the lights in our bathroom flickered as I went from warm to cool. This was some cause for concern with safety. Several of the blinds need to be replaced, especially in the upstairs bathroom.

We had 2 families, so the space was great for 6 of us. I did think it was odd that there are only servings for 6 people, so we couldn't invite our other family members over to eat. With water being at a premium in Ca, it would make sense to have paper plates available so we wouldn't have to use dishwasher as often. I've also never stayed at a VRBO that the house book stated we had to empty trash, clean up and do laundry before leaving. That was a surprise. We had a maintenance issue, but Hayley did repair immediately. It would be nice to have a welcome basket with fruit, snacks, etc upon arrival as I've experienced in the past.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. Since your stay, we have included many more place settings, however as we came to find out, there were many more people staying in the home then you requested. This home sleeps 6 people... I am Okay with an additional Person or two of pre arranged with me. But 10 was really too many for the home. I am More than happy to walk Guests through washing machine instructions of my directions in the book are not clear to some- sorry I didn't know you were having issues. :-( as far as electrical- we will look into that - we take that very seriously and will look into that, as this is the first time I'm Hearing about this. That's so appreciated - we want everything functioning safely of course. The draft on the door has a draft blocker now- it's a little pillow that sits in front of the door. I'll look into a more permanent solution of that wasn't adequate.Sorry we don't do fruit baskets- too many people have allergies! But we do do Wine With three night stay or more. I wish your experiences was better! Thanks again for the heads up on the issues you had.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful house close to beach

  • 5 of 5

A beautiful house, refreshing modern place to relax in, listening to sea gulls and with sea views. Great location and in a lovely area. Aquarium passes and bikes fab. Wish we were staying longer than 2 nights, there's so much to do here and even doing nothing here would be great.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cool house in a great location!

  • 5 of 5

Plenty of room for our family of 5! Well stocked.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice location, comfortable room

  • 5 of 5

We stayed 3 nights with my family, total 4 people).

At first , I couldn't find a location since there was a road construction and had to take a detour.

But after found out the place, it is located such a nice place , right in front of ocean .

I enjoyed walking around Lovers point ( 3 mins walk).

Rooms were nice , well cleaned , felt more wide because of high ceiling .

There was a loft but it isn't for using.

Aquarium passes are available for two people . We didn't use bikes .

It was great we didn't need to worry about key since electrical key code.

We would love to stay again.

About 30 mins walk to Cannery Row.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: not necessary

Library, botanical garden, churches, marina, winery tours, beachcombing, bird watching, walking, eco tourism, paddle boating, whale watching, scenic drives, roller blading, deepsea fishing, equestrian events, golf privileges optional, sound/bay fishing, pier fishing. ATM/bank, laundromat, massage therapist, medical services, groceries, hospital.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Pacific Grove, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
High Season
13 Feb 2016 - 14 Nov 2016
2 night minimum stay
low season
15 Nov 2016 - 12 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee A$129
Refundable Damage Deposit A$522
Tax Rate 10.0%

Stay 7 nights and the 7th night is FREE!!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Pacific Grove, California

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1350 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • City Centre ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Activities Guide
  • soap
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • local restaurant guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower , ground level, private for room #1
    Bathroom 2 - shower enclosure , upper level, shared with two bedrooms. Entrance from hallway
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed , tempurpedic mattress, this bedroom is entry ground level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed , upper level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed , upper level
  • Queen size Beds (3), Baby Cribs (1)
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Bicycles ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 4 bicycles
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
All bedroom have closet and HDTV flat screen TV's 4 cruiser bikes available. LOFT IS NOT FOR GUEST USE