check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

hayley

Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks english

Quiet Comtemporary House One Block from Ocean.

65 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this Pacific Grove holiday house

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Located 75 steps from the ocean, this updated property is located in one of the few original neighborhoods of Pacific Grove. The coastal bike trail is just 2 min away. Walk to Downtown and to the beach. 0.5 miles to the aquarium and Cannery Row. Ocean views from kitchen and living room.

Bikes are provided for your personal use. Helmsets provided. (bikes are adult sized)

Keywords: house

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
hayley (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks english

Guestbook comments from the manager

"Thank you Hayley and Fabrice for a wonderful and very memorable trip to the California coast. Our entire family enjoyed your home in its entirety! The bikes were just fabulous - we biked everwhere and never used our car. Your home's character is just perfect and thank you for keeping it so clean and updated. We will definitley return and hope you will have us back"
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.7
based on 65 traveller reviews

Quiet Comtemporary House One Block from Ocean.
average rating of 4.6769233 based on 67 reviews
3

Great Location! The rest was not so great.

  • 3 of 5

PROS

- The location of the property is perfect. You are able to walk everywhere and enjoy the coastal trail easily.

- We had babies with us and were kindly allowed to access the apartment a couple of hours before the standard check-in for our convenience.

- The Bikes

- Quickly received our full deposit back

CONS

- When we booked this property, we were trying to choose between it and another property. The deciding factor was that they offered 2 free aquarium passes, a savings of $100. However, the passes were not at the property for us to use. When we reached out to the contact they said they would call the previous guests to see if they took them. Not really much help to us, so we decided to just go. It was disappointing. I was persistent and they did offer to provide passes for us a few hours later, but it was too late. I read in a review that this had happened to another guest. They need to check for the passes when they clean between guests so guests don't have to hunt them down.

- The beds and pillows were very uncomfortable. 3 out of our 5 guests had sore backs.

- It gets hot in the main area, even when it is only 70 degrees out. There are no screens on the windows, so we did have to kill a couple of bugs.

- Ants: We picked up a box of pastries from a nearby bakery for the next morning and left it on the kitchen counter. Ants were all over them in the morning. Not really their fault since the rain probably mobilized the ants.

- Very, very, very low flow toilets. It is likely a recurring issue as they have a plunger next to them for convenience.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic location

  • 5 of 5

The house was very clean and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed having the bikes to use. Great location one block from the ocean, we wish we could have stayed longer! Lots to do in Monterey.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute beach house!

  • 5 of 5

My daughter and her 5 bridesmaids stayed at the mermaid rental for three nights prior to her wedding. I booked the reservation, and the owner, Hayley, was very easy to communicate with and very accommodating. The rental was cozy and comfortable, but spacious enough for this group of 6. The location was perfect for walks along the ocean, as well as into town for supplies or restaurants, and the bikes were an added bonus. They had a fun and memorable time. The kitchen area and adjacent large table made a perfect area to have a small gathering for arranging the flowers for the wedding. Would definitely recommend!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Unique Home. We loved it!

  • 5 of 5

My family of 6 were very comfortable for our multiple night stay in the Mermaid Vacation Home. The home is located on a unique street that has a row of homes in front and then the coastline. It was a very short walk to get to the beaches or benches to sight see the ocean, boats, wild life etc. The home was very clean and well stocked. We so appreciated the washer and dryer and enjoyed being able to watch TV in separate rooms. The loft is not accessible, we didn't need it anyways so that was fine for us. The downstairs bedroom is a bit colder than the rest of the home, but there is a space heater that did just fine. Bikes were great touch. There are minor little things that could be improved, maybe an update on the bathroom upstairs, new blinds perhaps... but overall - for the price and the location - I really think you cannot beat this place. So reasonable for the area and I feel if we had any issues with the house (we didn't) that the owner Hayley would have addressed them. She was very responsive during the booking process and easy to work with. If you like vacation homes, this is one of the better ones i have stayed in. I would stay again and hope you enjoy the house!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks you for your email, I posted your review to our page. It was so nice to have you at the home and I hope your journey continues safely!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Great location but needs updates

  • 2 of 5

We really enjoyed the location with close proximity to many sites, including the views of the ocean. But, the house definitely needs some updates and repairs. I had hoped that these had taken place before our arrival after reading the previous reviews, but they had not. We never could get the washer to work despite numerous tries and following the crazy directions in the house manual. The door in the master leading to garage still hasn't been sealed or insulated, so there is a breeze of air blowing through. The electrical outlets are really in need of repair. Every time I dried my hair, the lights in our bathroom flickered as I went from warm to cool. This was some cause for concern with safety. Several of the blinds need to be replaced, especially in the upstairs bathroom.

We had 2 families, so the space was great for 6 of us. I did think it was odd that there are only servings for 6 people, so we couldn't invite our other family members over to eat. With water being at a premium in Ca, it would make sense to have paper plates available so we wouldn't have to use dishwasher as often. I've also never stayed at a VRBO that the house book stated we had to empty trash, clean up and do laundry before leaving. That was a surprise. We had a maintenance issue, but Hayley did repair immediately. It would be nice to have a welcome basket with fruit, snacks, etc upon arrival as I've experienced in the past.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. Since your stay, we have included many more place settings, however as we came to find out, there were many more people staying in the home then you requested. This home sleeps 6 people... I am Okay with an additional Person or two of pre arranged with me. But 10 was really too many for the home. I am More than happy to walk Guests through washing machine instructions of my directions in the book are not clear to some- sorry I didn't know you were having issues. :-( as far as electrical- we will look into that - we take that very seriously and will look into that, as this is the first time I'm Hearing about this. That's so appreciated - we want everything functioning safely of course. The draft on the door has a draft blocker now- it's a little pillow that sits in front of the door. I'll look into a more permanent solution of that wasn't adequate.Sorry we don't do fruit baskets- too many people have allergies! But we do do Wine With three night stay or more. I wish your experiences was better! Thanks again for the heads up on the issues you had.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful house close to beach

  • 5 of 5

A beautiful house, refreshing modern place to relax in, listening to sea gulls and with sea views. Great location and in a lovely area. Aquarium passes and bikes fab. Wish we were staying longer than 2 nights, there's so much to do here and even doing nothing here would be great.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Library, botanical garden, churches, marina, winery tours, beachcombing, bird watching, walking, eco tourism, paddle boating, whale watching, scenic drives, roller blading, deepsea fishing, equestrian events, golf privileges optional, sound/bay fishing, pier fishing. ATM/bank, laundromat, massage therapist, medical services, groceries, hospital.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Pacific Grove, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
low season
15 Nov 2016 - 12 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$334
A$2,007
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
A$334
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee A$132
Refundable Damage Deposit A$535
Tax Rate 10.0%

Stay 7 nights and the 7th night is FREE!!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Pacific Grove, California

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1350 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • City Centre ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • soap
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • local restaurant guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower , ground level, private for room #1
    Bathroom 2 - shower enclosure , upper level, shared with two bedrooms. Entrance from hallway
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed , tempurpedic mattress, this bedroom is entry ground level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed , upper level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed , upper level
  • Queen size Beds (3), Baby Cribs (1)
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 4 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
All bedroom have closet and HDTV flat screen TV's 4 cruiser bikes available. LOFT IS NOT FOR GUEST USE